file Cerebral Resequencing [Protean]

30 Jan 2019 15:24 #93224 by jamesatzephyr

Kraus wrote: And still that doesn't really refer to being 'blocked' as being a resolution in of itself.


That is in the rulebook, though not surrounded by enormous flashing blue lights.

Rulebook, 6 wrote: Each action is resolved (successful or blocked) before another action can be attempted.


Kraus wrote: still combat to resolve - after which plenty of cards can be played at the end of the action.


You're confusing "action resolution" with "end of the action" or "cards not playable".

The action resolves at the point at which it is either successful or unsuccessful. This can include:

- going into a referendum, as part of the successful resolution of a political action
- going into combat, as part of the successful resolution of a Bum's Rush
- going into combat, as part of the unsuccessful (blocked) resolution of most actions

Many cards can be played during these steps!

Importantly, however, action modifiers and reactions by default are playable only before action resolution. You need card text / the Golden Rule for Cards to kick in.

Rulebook, 6.2 wrote: Action modifiers and reaction cards can be played at any time before resolution during an action (unless otherwise noted on card text),


Such card text is commonly found on action modifiers and reactions that are "playable during a referendum", Freak Drive says when it's played etc.

But, for example, you cannot play Mask of a Thousand Faces after an action resolves.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Jan 2019 16:00 #93225 by Klaital
I am not really sure how Red Herring is in anyway related to this as that card clearly states that your minions can't attempt the same action again this turn.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Jan 2019 19:33 - 30 Jan 2019 19:41 #93227 by Kraus

Klaital wrote: I am not really sure how Red Herring is in anyway related to this as that card clearly states that your minions can't attempt the same action again this turn.

You are right of course. I read it, thought it was relevant, re-read it and decided it wasn't, took a while and forgot that I had read it in the first place.

Red Herring is as explicit as it gets. My bad.

The action resolves at the point at which it is either successful or unsuccessful. This can include:

- going into a referendum, as part of the successful resolution of a political action
- going into combat, as part of the successful resolution of a Bum's Rush
- going into combat, as part of the unsuccessful (blocked) resolution of most actions

So, by this logic, a minion whose political action has been Delayed cannot attempt another political action that turn (another than the one called, which is forbidden by DT's text), correct?

I just want to be absolutely sure.

Name: Delaying Tactics
[Jyhad:U, VTES:U, CE:U/PN, Third:U, KoT:U]
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Only usable during a referendum.
Cancel the referendum. Unlock the acting vampire. The political action card (if any) played to call this referendum is returned to its owner's hand (discard afterward), and the acting Methuselah's minions cannot attempt the same political action again this turn.
Artist: Brian LeBlanc; Quinton Hoover

"Oh, to the Hades with the manners! He's a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De-Arnise

Facebook @ VtES: Joensuu
www.vekn.net/forum-guidelines
Last edit: 30 Jan 2019 19:41 by Kraus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Jan 2019 20:32 #93228 by drnlmza

Kraus wrote: So, by this logic, a minion whose political action has been Delayed cannot attempt another political action that turn (another than the one called, which is forbidden by DT's text), correct?

I just want to be absolutely sure.


That's the case, and is specifically noted in the rulings

card rulings A-F wrote: Delaying Tactics:
* Cancels the political action, but the acting minion is still considered to have taken a political action (so cannot perform another in the same turn). [RTR 19970630]


--
National Coordinator
South Africa
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kraus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jan 2019 10:45 - 31 Jan 2019 10:49 #93237 by Bloodartist

drnlmza wrote:

Kraus wrote: So, by this logic, a minion whose political action has been Delayed cannot attempt another political action that turn (another than the one called, which is forbidden by DT's text), correct?

I just want to be absolutely sure.


That's the case, and is specifically noted in the rulings

card rulings A-F wrote: Delaying Tactics:
* Cancels the political action, but the acting minion is still considered to have taken a political action (so cannot perform another in the same turn). [RTR 19970630]


That is not the card text for delaying tactics. It has been changed at some point.
The correct text (from official card list) is:

Name: Delaying Tactics
[Jyhad:U, VTES:U, CE:U/PN, Third:U, KoT:U, SP:LB2/PwN2]
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Only usable during the polling step of a political action.
Cancel the referendum. Unlock the acting vampire. If a political action card was played to call this referendum, return it to its owner's hand (discard down afterward). Minions controlled by the acting Methuselah cannot take the same political action again this turn.
Artist: Quinton Hoover; Brian LeBlanc


Ie. In the correct text delaying tactics cancels the referendum, not the political action. The political action is still resolved so the acting minion cannot attempt any political action again.

ps. So the card rulings section is not correctly updated with the up-to-date card text.

"If a man wanders into a tiger's domain, it may result in his being devoured.
And so it has."
-- Pisha, VtM:B

Last edit: 31 Jan 2019 10:49 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jan 2019 12:00 #93238 by jamesatzephyr

Bloodartist wrote: Ie. In the correct text delaying tactics cancels the referendum, not the political action. The political action is still resolved so the acting minion cannot attempt any political action again.


Cancelling the political action, as in the earlier text, has the same effect. Cancelling an action that has resolved doesn't undo the resolution. It isn't "rewind time to the beginning of the action and pretend the action never happened", it just means "stop it in its tracks".

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.131 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum