map-pin Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018

04 Mar 2018 10:29 - 05 Mar 2018 09:33 #85536 by Ankha
Ankha created the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018
Fellow Methuselahs,

After feedback of the community, and in order to remove unnecessary complexity to the game, the following rules with be effective as for April 02, 2018 (as always, changes contained herein do not go into effect for santioned tournaments for 30 days.)

Rule change #1: Timing during the Influence phase

Vampires (or Imbued) are no longer automatically moved to the ready region at the end of the influence phase. Instead, they are actively moved to the ready region by the player.

As a consequence, you cannot self-contest a unique vampire or imbued anymore (per rule 4.1. Contested Cards): the crypt card has to stay in the uncontrolled region. Minions that have a replacement effect as they would come into play (eg., Anarch Convert) or that cannot be contested (eg., Jimmy Dunn) can still be played as before.

Also, the number of transfers a player receives each turn is determined at the start of the influence phase. Cards that provide transfers upon use can still be triggered during the influence phase to get more transfers.

Eg., Alice controls Information Highway (+2 transfers) and Ennoia's Theater (lock to get +1 transfer), and has Ingrid Rossler (9 capacity, +2 transfers if ready) with 7 blood in her uncontrolled region.

Alice receives 6 transfers at the start of her influence phase. She uses 2 transfers to move 2 pool to Ingrid Rossler (+2 transfers if ready) and decides to move her to the ready region. Alice doesn't get the +2 transfers granted by Ingrid Rossler, but can lock Ennoia's Theater to get 1 more transfer. She does so and uses her 5 remaining transfers to move 5 pool to another uncontrolled vampire, and declares the end of her influence phase.

Note: The abilities of vampires or Imbued such as Angela Preston or Paul "Sixofswords29" Moreton can now be used the turn they are put into play.

Updated rulebook text:

IV. Influence phase
At the start of her influence phase, the player gets 4 transfers, except the first three turns of the game, where players get one, two, and three transfers on the first, second, and third turn, respectively.
Like master phase actions, transfers can be spent for different effects, and transfers that have not been spent are lost when proceeding to the next phase.
These effects are:
- Spend 1 transfer: move one blood counter from her pool to a vampire in her uncontrolled region
- Spend 2 transfers: move one blood counter from a vampire in her uncontrolled region to her pool
- Spend 4 transfers and pay 1 pool: draw a crypt card.
- Spend 4 transfers and pay 1 pool: merge a base and an advanced version of a vampire.
Some cards allow spending transfers to produce other effects. Some cards also grant additional transfers.
At any time during this phase, if a vampire has at least as many blood counters as his capacity, the player can move that vampire to the ready region. The blood counters on the vampire stay on him and become his blood. Blood counters in excess to his capacity are burned (see sec. H.1. Crypt cards). If the vampire grants additional transfers, those can’t be used on this turn because transfers are gained at the start of the influence phase.


Rule change #2: Recruiting allies

Allies that are recruited are now moved to the ready region instead of the uncontrolled region, but cannot take actions the turn they are recruited. (This applies only to allies that are recruited, not allies that are put into play by other means.)

Allies that previously were moved to the ready region when recruited (Nocturn, Infernal Servitor) are not restricted by this rule. They read now: "This ally can act the turn it is recruited."

This doesn't change anything in the count of ready minions controlled by a Methuselah but makes it more intelligible than a ready minion in the uncontrolled region.

This implies a few changes:
- an ally that has been recruited this turn can now block a vampire controlled by another Methuselah that is acting out-of-turn during the same turn.
- an ally that has been recruited this turn can now be burned by cards such as Abomination.

Rule change #3: Caitiff as a clan

Caitiff is now a clan. When choosing a clan, Caitiff is now a valid choice (eg., Consanguineous Boon, Clan Impersonation etc.)

Note: Clanless vampires are still considered as vampires without a clan, not Caitiff.

The rule stating that Caitiff are clanless, while true to the canon, has had negligible impact on games of V:tES, but adds an unnecessary complexity to the game.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last Edit: 05 Mar 2018 09:33 by Ankha. Reason: Typo
The following user(s) said Thank You: Brum, Lönkka, Loughman, Jussi, Ashur, self biased, kschaefer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2018 14:54 - 04 Mar 2018 14:59 #85543 by Lönkka
Lönkka replied the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018
Self-contesting.

I assume that the crypt card that is at full capacity or more will still needs to come out of the uncontrolled during the influence phase, right? (you now just get to apply possible effect that coming to controlled might trigger/enable)

You just can't leave your minions in the uncontrolled even if you don't want to bring them out for some reason (going to be torporized, Baltimore Purged or whatever), right?

What happens when you notice that you have a minion at full capacity, or more, in your uncontrolled and it would self-contest?

Say, you've Governed down and for some reason don't have enough transfers to move excess pool away from the minion that you already have in ready region to make it less than full cap? You get to keep that minion as a bonus storage for pool or what happens? (say, an empty four cap gets to be recipient two Govern superiors bringing the pool on it to 6 and the player, for some reason doesn't use transfers to transfer the counters to his pool)

NC, Finland
Finnish :POT: Politics!
Last Edit: 04 Mar 2018 14:59 by Lönkka.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
04 Mar 2018 15:03 #85545 by kschaefer
kschaefer replied the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018

Ankha wrote: At any time during this phase, if a vampire has at least as many blood counters as his capacity, the player can move to the ready region that vampire.


Emphasis mine. The player chooses if and when to move the vampire into play. A player may also not self-contest.

Lönkka wrote: I assume that the crypt card that is at full capacity or more will still needs to come out of the uncontrolled during the influence phase, right?


No. You can just leave a vampire in your uncontrolled region the entire game even if they have enough blood on them.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2018 17:06 #85549 by Ankha
Ankha replied the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018

Lönkka wrote: Self-contesting.

I assume that the crypt card that is at full capacity or more will still needs to come out of the uncontrolled during the influence phase, right? (you now just get to apply possible effect that coming to controlled might trigger/enable)

No. It doesn't move any longer automatically to the ready region. It's now an action of the player.

Lönkka wrote: You just can't leave your minions in the uncontrolled even if you don't want to bring them out for some reason (going to be torporized, Baltimore Purged or whatever), right?

You can leave them, even if they have enough blood to move to the ready region.

Lönkka wrote: What happens when you notice that you have a minion at full capacity, or more, in your uncontrolled and it would self-contest?

Nothing.

Lönkka wrote: Say, you've Governed down and for some reason don't have enough transfers to move excess pool away from the minion that you already have in ready region to make it less than full cap? You get to keep that minion as a bonus storage for pool or what happens? (say, an empty four cap gets to be recipient two Govern superiors bringing the pool on it to 6 and the player, for some reason doesn't use transfers to transfer the counters to his pool)

You can keep it in your uncontrolled region.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jussi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2018 17:20 #85550 by jamesatzephyr
jamesatzephyr replied the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018

Ankha wrote: Eg., Alice controls Information Highway (+2 transfers) and Ennoia's Theater (lock to get +1 transfer), and has Ingrid Rossler (+2 transfers if ready) with 6 blood in her uncontrolled region.

Alice receives 6 transfers at the start of her influence phase. She uses 2 transfers to move 2 pool to Ingrid Rossler (+2 transfers if ready) and decides to move her to the ready region.


Uh-oh, this occurred during the cheating phase. :-(

(Change the setup to 7 blood.)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ankha

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Mar 2018 22:04 #85556 by Bloodartist
Bloodartist replied the topic: Rules Team Rulings - RTR 03/03/2018

jamesatzephyr wrote: Uh-oh, this occurred during the cheating phase. :-(

(Change the setup to 7 blood.)


Yup, Ingrid is 9-cap.

I like this change. It makes sense from both game mechanics point of view and flavor point of view. Less obligatory triggers that players have to keep track of will mean less awkward moments when players play sloppy and make mistakes. Now its an option for example to say "oops I forgot" rather than force the game to be backtracked. Its not uncommon in our local casual games that a player accidentally transfers to the wrong vampire for example (happened last week).

Also from flavor point of view, blood to full capacity would mean you have managed to gain full control of a vampire. But you shouldn't be forced to put that vampire in danger, say, a baltimore purge, or a rush-happy enemy.

I also like the ally change. Now the official way of recruiting allies becomes the same as the way we have always played and what is intuitive :P. The amount of people who correctly used to use the uncontrolled region is about the same as those who say "lock" instead of "tap".

"Do you believe in the power of the night?
If you want to go with me, refuse the light"
- Blutengel, Soultaker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: Ankha
Time to create page: 0.350 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum