file Question on the correct way to play the tangle atropos hand

12 Jan 2017 21:08 - 12 Jan 2017 21:08 #80155 by 1muflon1
Hi guys, I would like to ask a clarifying question about Tangle Atropos' Hand card.

The card says that "cancel the action and untap the acting minion..." and so on...

Now does this mean that the minion can try to perform the same action on the same turn?

I know that there is a rule against performing/attempting the same action twice (for example like with freak drive). However, this card cancels the action. Also, the direct intervention out-of-turn master which also can cancel action cards has the following ruling:

"Ruling: Since the NRA rule is applied to the acting minion when the action resolves (is blocked or is successful), the minion whose action card is cancelled by Direct Intervention is free to attempt the same type of action again, even with (another copy of) the same card. [LSJ 19980212]."

So I personally think that it should be able to perform the same action again, but one friend from my local group disagrees.

It would be nice if someone could clear things up. Many thanks in advance!
Last edit: 12 Jan 2017 21:08 by 1muflon1.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2017 21:43 #80156 by Hakuron
The NRA rule is not triggered.
You are free to perform the same action again. Yes, Tangle is that good. :-D

National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de
The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2017 21:46 #80158 by Squidalot
Yes, you're correct and your reference to that NRA ruling is correct it applies to Direct Intervention and Tangle in the same way for Actions. .
The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jan 2017 07:25 #80163 by Ankha
Hakuron and Squidalot are correct. The important thing is that the action didn't reach resolution (blocked or successful).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: 1muflon1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jan 2017 21:15 #80403 by Lead
So if Mylan (or that AUS card or Abdelsobek or so on) untags someone who has played Kiss of Ra, can they play a 2nd copy of an action card or bleed or vote again? Meaning, does that scenario follow the DI / Tangle pattern?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jan 2017 18:35 #80417 by Blooded Sand

So if Mylan (or that AUS card or Abdelsobek or so on) untags someone who has played Kiss of Ra, can they play a 2nd copy of an action card or bleed or vote again? Meaning, does that scenario follow the DI / Tangle pattern?


No. Think your way through the sequence. Mylan untaps a tapped vampire. He does not have any text, anywhere, mentioning that the action was cancelled (not taken.) Any vampire he untaps may only take actions that do not have NRA taint.

:assa: :flight: :QUI: :OBF: :POT: :FOR: :TEM: :DOM:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.098 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum