file Is envorinmental Damage, that is dealt during Strike resolution affected by rang

22 Mar 2024 19:38 #110981 by Hobbesgoblin
We found several asnwers to that form several eras and several Rules directors:

2. Determine Range
Each round of combat is fought at either close
range or long range. Close range is the default
for each round. The range determines which
strikes and other strike resolution step effects
can be used. Some effects can only be used at
close range, some only at long range, and the
rest at either close or long range.

This seems to imply yes.

Halcyan 2 wrote:
>
> >> Thoughts Betrayed [DS, SW, FN]
> >> Do opposing minion takes 1 additional damage during strike resolution on
> >> inferior even if the combat is at long range?
> >
> >No.
>
> I know that it follows the Wolf Companion text, but is there any particular
> reason why Thoughts Betrayed doesn't inflict damage at long? Similarly, would
> Drawing out the Beast inflict damage at long range?

As a strike resolution effect, it is affected by range (it functions similarly
to Retainer damage in that regard).

DotB's damage is not a "during strike resolution" effect.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/FinHO99QB3k/m/HcVxu9N6D9IJ
LSJ confirming yes in 2002.

Quoting unofficial card text doesn't help, since then I still have to look up
the official text (and may actually hinder, depending on the degree of
difference from the official card text and whether or not I notice that the
quoted text is not official).

Name: Bestial Vengeance
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Animalism
Requires a Laibon.
[ani] Only usable before range is determined. Choose a retainer on this Laibon.
This combat, this Laibon is immune to frenzy cards and the opposing minion takes
1 damage during strike resolution if the retainer is ready. A vampire can play
only one Bestial Vengeance each combat.
[ANI] As above, but for 2 damage.

It works regardless of range. Like Darkling Trickery.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/MKJghrVVAMw/m/UCh2_EbE9AEJ
LSJ ruling no on Bestial Vengence (and darkling trickey, which has the exact wording as thought betrayed at the time) in 2009

>Thetmes wrote:
>Playing a game in which vampire A has a ghoul retainer, in combat with vampire B.

>Vampire B is long and strikes with his magnum. Vampire A wants his ghoul retainer to inflict 1 damage at long as in cardtext, the mention "inflicts 1 damage on the opposing minion each round of combat during normal strike resolution at close range" doesnt exists like with other retainers of that type (Wolf Companion, ...).

>On the other hand all other retainers inflincting damage at long range specify clearly that they do ranged damages (Murder of Crows)...

>Is a Ghoul retainer able to inflict damages at long range without any weapons?

No, it inflicts 1 damage during the strike resolution, which has no effect at long range.

www.vekn.net/forum/generic-v-tes-discussion/75623-ghoul-retainer?start=12#103386
Annkha ruling yes in 2021

None of the four cards mention to deal R damage at the time the ruling was amde (Darkling trickery does now) 2 each have basically the same wording.

Beatial Vengance (ruled working on all ranges) has the same woridng as Ghoul retainer (ruled to work only close)

Darkling Trickery (Ruled at the time to work at any range, now reworded to deal R damage) had, at the time of the ruling, the same wording as Thougts betrayed (ruled to work only on close)

I think we need a clarification here how this is supposed to work.

Thoughts Betrayed

Darkling Trickery

Bestial Vengeance

Ghoul Retainer
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Mar 2024 13:36 #111043 by inm8
a ruling/clarification would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Apr 2024 07:20 #111071 by Ankha
There will be a clarification in the next few days.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: self biased, inm8, Hobbesgoblin, Oracle.kid

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Apr 2024 21:14 - 26 Apr 2024 12:59 #111122 by self biased
I feel like there's an easy way to rule this, and that's: "Card text."

Strikes (that aren't Dodge or Combat Ends) are only effective at short range. Environmental damage is not a strike, and will deal its damage regardless of range. QED.

If an Environmental effect deals damage that's restricted to a particular range like
Hatch the Viper or Wolf Companion, that should be determined by card text.

This is why i've been braying about getting rid of (R) Damage. it makes other things clearer if strikes are the only things that are inherently affected by range without card text. having Environmental damage be R damage or not unnecessarily muddies the waters. Every Gun should be reprinted as "Ranged Strike: Damage" instead of "Strike: R Damage," and we can get rid of an exception to a rule and legacy holdover that we've been clutching to for decades.

Hatch the Viper.
Retainer with 1 life.
:pro: :ser: The employer can prevent 1 damage each combat. Hatch the Viper inflicts 1 damage on the opposing minion each round of combat during normal strike resolution at close range.
:PRO: :SER: As above, but it inflicts 2 damage.

Wolf Companion
Animal with 2 life.
:ani: When the minion with this retainer is in combat, the opposing minion takes 1 damage during strike resolution at close range.
:ANI: As above, but Wolf Companion has 3 life.

Last edit: 26 Apr 2024 12:59 by self biased.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.127 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum