file Is a locquipment a location while not in play

03 Aug 2025 01:17 #115116 by the1andonlime
There is an existing ruling that says locquipments are not locations while in hand, ash heap, or library
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/aMum-K7LEeo/m/94iN92zwYTcJ

However, it was pointed out (and a fantastic point at that) that:
1. Delivery Truck specifically talks about non-location equipment but critically does not put it into play, thus contradicting the ruling, and
2. the latest printing of Living Manse updates the locquipment template to now have the "Location" trait, meaning it definitely is a location in all zones

Putting aside Delivery Truck, this new templating (great work btw) means the ruling no longer holds true for all locquipments

Can we get an official general ruling on the "location" state of locquipments for clarity and for the record?


Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2025 10:27 #115125 by Kilrauko

There is an existing ruling that says locquipments are not locations while in hand, ash heap, or library
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/aMum-K7LEeo/m/94iN92zwYTcJ

However, it was pointed out (and a fantastic point at that) that:
1. Delivery Truck specifically talks about non-location equipment but critically does not put it into play, thus contradicting the ruling, and
2. the latest printing of Living Manse updates the locquipment template to now have the "Location" trait, meaning it definitely is a location in all zones

Putting aside Delivery Truck, this new templating (great work btw) means the ruling no longer holds true for all locquipments

Can we get an official general ruling on the "location" state of locquipments for clarity and for the record?


Delivery truck follows the golden rule for cards like all cards do. You cannot choose a location card with because just as concealed weapon knows what cardtext does even when cardtext has no effect while in hand (aggravated damage), so does Delivery Truck know whether or not Palatial estate is a location. Or any other Loquipment.

The Golden Rule for Cards: Whenever the cards contradict the rules, the cards take precedence.


www.vekn.net/rulebook


So Delivery Truck follows the golden rule as everything does, it will know what is location and what is not. Hence to attempt putting Location out of play with it is attempting something you cannot do, which at that point why not just attempt to steal five more pool from the blood bank. Or attempt to change the card that's on Delivery truck with a card that's in your left pocket. Or attempt to claim there's a ruling that allows attempting things that cannot be done?

Even when there's this;

> Hmmmm, I don't agree with this. I don't see why you can't do this
> action knowing it will very likely fail.

Because you can't attempt something you cannot do.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/cHdOwueG71I/m/BTBYvTZhrAUJ



I have no idea what is this latest printing about Living Manse that you're talking about, they've literally just bolded and reworded sabbat era text?

As for the current ruling, well, here you go;

BTW, all LSJ/Floppy rulings are valid, unless there's a more recent official ruling saying otherwise. I'm not sure why we would need a further confirmation.


www.vekn.net/forum/news-and-announcements/80782-the-line-pack-alpha?start=6#109157

So unless Ankha decides to start tossing REVERSALS here, they stay as they are.
Name: Delivery Truck
[Anarchs:R, KoT:R]
Cardtype: Equipment
Vehicle.
During your master phase, you may show a non-location equipment card from your hand to the other players and place it face down on the Delivery Truck if it doesn't already have one. You may look at the card at any time. Any minion you control may equip that card (face up) as a +1 stealth action (requirements and cost apply as normal). A minion may have only one vehicle.
Artist: Jeff Holt
Name: Concealed Weapon
[Jyhad:C, CE:C/PB/PTo, BH:PTo4, KMW:PAl3, LotN:PG2, KoT:C/PT2]
Cardtype: Combat
Only usable before range is determined.
This minion equips with a non-unique weapon card from your hand (requirements and cost apply as normal). The weapon cannot cost 3 or more pool or inflict (with a regular strike) aggravated damage or 4 or more damage.
Artist: Alejandro Collucci; Jeff Menges
Name: Living Manse
[Sabbat:R, SW:R, Third:R, SP:DoF1, POD:DTC, V5C:PTz1]
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Tzimisce
Cost: 1 blood
Location. While in play, this card does not count as equipment.
This vampire gets +1 bleed. They can burn this card before range is determined to end combat. A vampire can have only one Living Manse.
Artist: Mark Tedin

Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2025 14:35 #115126 by Oracle.kid



I have no idea what is this latest printing about Living Manse that you're talking about, they've literally just bolded and reworded sabbat era text?


The main point is that now Living manse has the location trait explicitly, which would make it a location all the time, thus e.g. searchable. This has not been the case before, from what I understand.


Name: Living Manse
[Sabbat:R, SW:R, Third:R, SP:DoF1, POD:DTC, V5C:PTz1]
Cardtype: Equipment
Clan: Tzimisce
Cost: 1 blood
Location. While in play, this card does not count as equipment.
This vampire gets +1 bleed. They can burn this card before range is determined to end combat. A vampire can have only one Living Manse.
Artist: Mark Tedin
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2025 23:08 #115131 by Kilrauko

The main point is that now Living manse has the location trait explicitly, which would make it a location all the time, thus e.g. searchable. This has not been the case before, from what I understand. ...


Searchable with what? If you're going for Danylo, see

See also Goblinism that does what Danylo doesn't.

Name: Goblinism
[LoB:R, HttB:PKia]
Cardtype: Action
Discipline: Mytherceria/Potence
[pot] (D) Burn a location.
[myt] +1 stealth action. Search your library for a location or equipment that is a location while in play. Show it to the other players and put it in your hand. Shuffle and discard afterward.
[MYT] As [myt] above, and if the location or equipment is a haven, you may put it on this vampire instead (requirements and cost, if any, must be met and paid as normal).


www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/80203-danylo-special-clarification#106963

to note that there's 2022 ruling confirming that 2008 ruling still works. Do we now need 2025 ruling to confirm that 2022 ruling confirms a 2008 ruling on what is location and when? How about x years from now when they decide to twiddle around with the card text in attempt to make it easier to understand for new players with all the older players jumping in asking for whether or not this changes things.

If there is older ruling, it will stand until there is REVERSAL made. Whoever happens to be rules director at that time will handle that in however fashion they like, Ankha has been replying to the OP topic, then going back the rabbit hole and visibly editing the earlier threads so that google searches targeting vekn.net give as current ruling as possible while still showing the history of what was. See www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/78398-the-rack-vs-changing-control#98819 on how it will look. Until that happens they work as the rulings say.
Name: Danylo
[HttB:U/A2]
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Blood Brother
Group: 5
Capacity: 4
Discipline: for pro san
Sabbat: Danylo can search your library for a location, reveal it, and move it to your hand as an action that costs 1 pool (shuffle and discard down afterward). Kiev circle. Sterile.
Artist: James Stowe

Name: Goblinism
[LoB:R, HttB:PKia]
Cardtype: Action
Discipline: Mytherceria/Potence
[pot] (D) Burn a location.
[myt] +1 stealth action. Search your library for a location or equipment that is a location while in play. Show it to the other players and put it in your hand. Shuffle and discard afterward.
[MYT] As [myt] above, and if the location or equipment is a haven, you may put it on this vampire instead (requirements and cost, if any, must be met and paid as normal).
Artist: Roel Wielinga

Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Aug 2025 23:20 #115132 by TheLich
I am going to post here what I mentioned in the Discord.

From the look of things this is going to be addressed over time in a way that will remove the need for searching LSV rulings.

What is being asked for here is whether or not the change to manse can be effectively considered a reflection on all existing Loquipment. No reversal of rules text is needed, but this does do the most important thing for the game, which is take 4 different rules threads required to answer 1 question and condenses it to something the average rational player can answer without forming a search party. It would actually be Natural Language.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Aug 2025 07:25 #115138 by the1andonlime

I have no idea what is this latest printing about Living Manse that you're talking about, they've literally just bolded and reworded sabbat era text?

Living Manse, in the 2024 printing, went from "While in play, this equipment card represents a location and does not count as equipment" to "Location. While in play, this card does not count as equipment"

The 2022 ruling of the 2008 ruling now makes no sense for Living Manse as it is now, by card text, both a location and an equipment card (just like how Carfax Abbey is both a location and a master card)

As much as this is just "card text", I am hoping for a clarification from Ankha as to whether the plan is to reverse the ruling for equipments that count as locations while in play, or it will just be case by case depending on card text as they get updated


Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kraus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.092 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum