file Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect

19 Jun 2025 01:36 #114730 by TwoRazorReign
In the below card text examples, use of parentheses in the first two is correct, while use of parentheses in the last two is not.

Correct:
Talbot’s Chainsaw: "The bearer gets 1 press (mandatory)."
Conditioning: “+2 bleed (limited).”

Incorrect:
The Baron: “The Baron has 2 votes (titled).”
Change of Target: “the action ends (unsuccessfully).”

The difference between these two uses of parenthetical text is subtle and only becomes clear when it is understood how parentheses are used in English to offset nonrestrictive text, which is text that can be removed without changing the core meaning of the whole text. “(limited)” and “(mandatory)” are correct because by default, all action modifiers modifying bleed amounts are limited to 1, and all presses are mandatory unless explicitly stated they are optional. Thus, the “(limited)” or “(mandatory)” text can be removed and the meaning is unchanged. This is not the case for “(titled)” and “(unsuccessfully),” where removal of the parenthetical text changes the meaning (from titled to additional votes and unsuccessfully ended action to successfully ended action, respectively).

While it is true parentheses are used to offset text that is giving extra information, this should only be done in cases where the core meaning of the sentence would be unaffected by removal of the text in parentheses (some other cards with non-reminder text do this). It may be good practice to use parenthetical text only for reminder text and remove parentheses and recast text that is giving extra information that also happens to be essential to the core meaning of the card text (for example, “The Baron has 2 titled votes”; “the action ends unsuccessfully”).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jun 2025 05:40 #114733 by Ankha

Incorrect:
The Baron: “The Baron has 2 votes (titled).”
Change of Target: “the action ends (unsuccessfully).”

This is not the case for “(titled)” and “(unsuccessfully),” where removal of the parenthetical text changes the meaning (from titled to additional votes and unsuccessfully ended action to successfully ended action, respectively).

No. "The Baron has 2 votes" means he has a title of his own (not to be mistaken with "Mithras gets +2 votes")
Change of Target: since the action was blocked, it is unsuccessful by definition.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jun 2025 17:48 #114738 by emime
Incorrect:
whole OP :silly:

Emiliano "Sans Terre" - Wandering Player - Prince of Brussels

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.067 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum