- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Generic V:TES Discussion
- Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect
Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect
03 Jul 2025 11:18 - 03 Jul 2025 11:31 #114833
by Bloodartist
That's not true, as per above excerpt from the rulebook. An action is successful or unsuccessful only after the block or the action itself has been resolved (successfully), or some card says otherwise before resolution. It has nothing to do with "blocking attempt". Rules are rules. There is no "default state" defined anywhere. This is literally how canceling actions used to work, before the term "cancel" was introduced. NRA rule didnt apply unless the action reached resolution. Now that we end actions, it still needs to be defined whether they end successfully or unsuccessfully.
Since change of target is played before block resolution, there is no "default state" since such is not defined in the rules. If the action is to end unsuccessfully, the card should state so. Whether it ends successfully or unsuccessfully is crucial information for a great variety of different cards and abilities.
A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect
Sure, but the block resolution has nothing to do with the status (successful or unsuccessful) of the action.
That's not true, as per above excerpt from the rulebook. An action is successful or unsuccessful only after the block or the action itself has been resolved (successfully), or some card says otherwise before resolution. It has nothing to do with "blocking attempt". Rules are rules. There is no "default state" defined anywhere. This is literally how canceling actions used to work, before the term "cancel" was introduced. NRA rule didnt apply unless the action reached resolution. Now that we end actions, it still needs to be defined whether they end successfully or unsuccessfully.
Since change of target is played before block resolution, there is no "default state" since such is not defined in the rules. If the action is to end unsuccessfully, the card should state so. Whether it ends successfully or unsuccessfully is crucial information for a great variety of different cards and abilities.
A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing
Last edit: 03 Jul 2025 11:31 by Bloodartist.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 970
- Thank you received: 166
- Forum
- V:TES Discussion
- Generic V:TES Discussion
- Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect
Time to create page: 0.079 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Generic V:TES Discussion
- Use of parentheses in non-reminder text is sometimes incorrect