Action Modifiers Sequencing
06 Dec 2022 15:44 #106935
by Malachy
NC of Hungary
///
Replied by Malachy on topic Action Modifiers Sequencing
Hey, it's been a while!
Is this still applies today? Can the acting minion play Conditioning before any block attempts can be made?
Is this still applies today? Can the acting minion play Conditioning before any block attempts can be made?
NC of Hungary
///
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
06 Dec 2022 16:09 #106938
by inm8
The question isn’t entirely clear as to what “this” refers to.
Yes (see sequencing rule), Conditioning can normally be played either before or after the block attempt being announced. If the blocking minion has Blessing of Chaos on them then the Conditioning cannot be played after the block attempt has been announced.
Replied by inm8 on topic Action Modifiers Sequencing
Hey, it's been a while!
Is this still applies today?
The question isn’t entirely clear as to what “this” refers to.
Can the acting minion play Conditioning before any block attempts can be made?
Yes (see sequencing rule), Conditioning can normally be played either before or after the block attempt being announced. If the blocking minion has Blessing of Chaos on them then the Conditioning cannot be played after the block attempt has been announced.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
05 Nov 2025 15:09 #115710
by Malachy
NC of Hungary
///
Replied by Malachy on topic Action Modifiers Sequencing
Greets, for the third time, can I get a confirmation (from Ankha) on the subject of playing Action Modifiers that are not in the "as announced" window (for example Conditioning, Daring the Dawn) can be played before other Methuselah has the impusle to announce a block attempt?
Practicality: Can I play Daring the Dawn before block attempts can be made to deny Organized Resistance? How about Conditioning to go around Blessing of Chaos?
Thanks in advance!
Practicality: Can I play Daring the Dawn before block attempts can be made to deny Organized Resistance? How about Conditioning to go around Blessing of Chaos?
Thanks in advance!
NC of Hungary
///
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
06 Nov 2025 00:03 - 06 Nov 2025 00:27 #115712
by Kilrauko
Per www.vekn.net/forum/news-and-announcements/80782-the-line-pack-alpha?start=6#109157 where getting earlier ruling was not enough and Ankha was requested to make statement on the direct ruling instead using generic ruling following was stated;
So previous rulings apply. You've received answer to this by Floppy (Pascal) back in 2011 in this same thread with
We do not need to reconfirm each and every ruling by current rules director each time someone feels unsure if things have changed. If rules director feel there's need for REVERSAL or comment on the topic they will of course reply. As there was no need back in 2022, none was given by them as inm8 did not contradict it. Follow the answer Pascal gave you, it's still valid. It's even been highlighted in the current rulebook on it's sequencing portion;
www.vekn.net/rulebook
EDIT: People should not take this reply as some "don't ask questions" thing. On the contrary, asking them is very welcome, people just should not expect that Ankha (or whoever the current rules director is at the time) always replies to them personally, especially on things already ruled upon as they are human, have only 24 hours in a day and need to choose how to most efficiently spend them.
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Replied by Kilrauko on topic Action Modifiers Sequencing
Greets, for the third time, can I get a confirmation (from Ankha) on the subject of playing Action Modifiers that are not in the "as announced" window (for example Conditioning, Daring the Dawn) can be played before other Methuselah has the impusle to announce a block attempt?
Practicality: Can I play Daring the Dawn before block attempts can be made to deny Organized Resistance? How about Conditioning to go around Blessing of Chaos?
Thanks in advance!
Per www.vekn.net/forum/news-and-announcements/80782-the-line-pack-alpha?start=6#109157 where getting earlier ruling was not enough and Ankha was requested to make statement on the direct ruling instead using generic ruling following was stated;
...
BTW, all LSJ/Floppy rulings are valid, unless there's a more recent official ruling saying otherwise. I'm not sure why we would need a further confirmation.
So previous rulings apply. You've received answer to this by Floppy (Pascal) back in 2011 in this same thread with
.Yes. [EDIT: To the OP's question]
Rulebook 6.2 wrote:Action modifiers and reaction cards can be played at any time during an action (unless otherwise noted on card text), with the acting Methuselah getting the opportunity to play first.
@Izaak: There's an "as announced" window ( Outline IV.A.3 ) and a "declare block attempts and play action modifiers / reaction cards" window ( Outline IV.B, IV.C )
We do not need to reconfirm each and every ruling by current rules director each time someone feels unsure if things have changed. If rules director feel there's need for REVERSAL or comment on the topic they will of course reply. As there was no need back in 2022, none was given by them as inm8 did not contradict it. Follow the answer Pascal gave you, it's still valid. It's even been highlighted in the current rulebook on it's sequencing portion;
www.vekn.net/rulebook
ADVANCED RULES
Sequencing ... At every stage, the acting Methuselah always has the opportunity (called "impulse") to play the next card or effect. So after playing one effect, they may play another and another. ...
EDIT: People should not take this reply as some "don't ask questions" thing. On the contrary, asking them is very welcome, people just should not expect that Ankha (or whoever the current rules director is at the time) always replies to them personally, especially on things already ruled upon as they are human, have only 24 hours in a day and need to choose how to most efficiently spend them.
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Last edit: 06 Nov 2025 00:27 by Kilrauko. Reason: Added EDIT bit to highlight that questions are quite welcome.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.096 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Action Modifiers Sequencing
