file Presses outside of the press step

20 Jan 2015 21:38 #68745 by XZealot
Can you use cards or effects to gain presses outside of the press step?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2015 21:55 #68748 by chrisn101
Hi XZealot,

Do you mean like if you play superior Vampiric Speed as a strike?

:cel: Strike: dodge.
:CEL: Strike: dodge, with an optional press.

Then yes. At press step, you can also play cards that specifically allow you to press e.g. Nimble Feet .

However, "A maneuver or press gained by a combat card can only be used during the current round of combat. A maneuver or press gained by a non-combat card (e.g., action, equipment) can be used in any round of the combat. [TOM 19960521]". Also, your minion can't press to continue and then press to end.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jan 2015 22:20 - 20 Jan 2015 22:21 #68749 by Pagan
No, the question came up with:

Name: Terry
[BL:U1]
Cardtype: Vampire
Clan: Blood Brother
Group: 2
Capacity: 5
Discipline: aus dom san POT
Sabbat. Chicago Circle: Once each combat, Terry can burn 1 blood to get a press. Sterile.
Artist: Christopher Shy

I wanted to burn a blood before strikes so he'd go to 0 and then torpor with damage. But intuitively we agree it isn't legal as no one cycles 15 presses during combat before the press step so there has to be a ruling somewhere that states this.

But after looking at the rulebook I can't find where it states you can only gain presses during the press step or a specific card ruling but it has to be there somewhere. Also it has to be a ruling his text doesn't 'Golden Rule' over.
Last edit: 20 Jan 2015 22:21 by Pagan.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2015 09:02 #68755 by jamesatzephyr

But after looking at the rulebook I can't find where it states you can only gain presses during the press step or a specific card ruling but it has to be there somewhere. Also it has to be a ruling his text doesn't 'Golden Rule' over.


Well, the rulebook only talks about playing presses during the press step, 6.4.4, which implies it.

However, it has been explicitly ruled in the past that cards giving you an immediate press should be played in the press step. e.g. [LSJ 20070525]

> Immortal Grapple has a draft effect "[obf]Press". Considering the bold
> text "Only usable at close range before strikes are chosen. Grapple",
> when the draft effect should be played? If it should be played before
> strikes are chosen, why the text isn't like "This vampire gets an
> optional press this round", as usual?
Play in the press step.


And from two posts further on:

you can't play a press in the pre-range step.


Similarly, you can only play immediate maneuvers in Choose Range and not in "before range is determined". You can only play an immediate additional strike after strikes are resolved. You can only play immediate damage prevention if there is damage to prevent. You can only play an immediate strike during Choose Strike.



As already noted, if a card gives you a press that is obviously for later e.g. Vampiric Speed, Flash, then you can play that earlier. If a card gives you a strike for later (e.g. superior Mythic Form), you can play that earlier. If a card gives you lingering damage prevention (e.g. Apparition) you can play that earlier. Additional strike later this round, Vial of Garou Blood.
The following user(s) said Thank You: BenPeal

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2015 11:10 #68757 by Pascal Bertrand
Correct answer from jamesatzehpyr.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Feb 2015 22:11 #69029 by Pagan
So why is this not true then?


1.4. The Golden Rule for Cards

Whenever the cards contradict the rules, the cards take precedence.


Terry contradicts the rules by allowing him to gain a press by burning a blood with the only restriction that he has to be in combat. The rulebook says when card text would allow something different than the rules, the card text wins.

If the intent is as explained above that he shouldn't be able to gain a press earlier Terry should then say,

Once during the press step each combat, Terry can burn 1 blood to get a press.


And the rulebook needs to specify when a Press can be played and not require finding a ruling on a basic mechanic.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.134 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum