file Imbued and blood costs/general mechanics

01 Nov 2015 20:46 #74005 by TwoRazorReign

She could equip with a weapon that costs 1 blood, because then she would have to pay 0 blood, making it a legal move.


Jennifer's special ability is not worded correctly. It should say "Jennifer can equip with weapons that cost zero or one pool or blood. No cost is paid." With the current card text, she should be able to pay blood costs for any weapon. Golden rule for cards.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Nov 2015 23:30 - 01 Nov 2015 23:30 #74010 by TheLich

Jennifer's special ability is not worded correctly. It should say "Jennifer can equip with weapons that cost zero or one pool or blood. No cost is paid." With the current card text, she should be able to pay blood costs for any weapon. Golden rule for cards.


Not true. the card just instructs her to pay one less for them. It does not say she can play cards that cost blood. If a blood cost is still required she is checked for legality and is found to have none.
Last edit: 01 Nov 2015 23:30 by TheLich.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Nov 2015 00:53 #74011 by TwoRazorReign
Yes. But Jennifer's special ability is worded poorly. It suggests that Jennifer can pay blood costs for weapons. I think there is a better way to state Jennifer's special ability.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Nov 2015 04:23 #74013 by TheLich

Yes. But Jennifer's special ability is worded poorly. It suggests that Jennifer can pay blood costs for weapons. I think there is a better way to state Jennifer's special ability.


There are cards that would allow her the ability to do so. Because of this they make the ability all encompassing.

Example :

Jennifer who has a Putrescent Servitude and equips a Theoretical Weapon that does not exist yet that happens to cost 2. They could use a Forger's Hammer to have the action end successfully and not unsuccessfully. Any minion can attempt an action with no specific limitations even if they can't afford the cost.

Putrescent Servitude
Action
1 Blood
+1 stealth action.
[thn] Move any mortal or ghoul retainer you control to this vampire, or put this card on a mortal or ghoul ally you control. This ally gains 1 life, and he or she may play cards that require basic Potence as a vampire.
[THN] (D) As above, but take any mortal or ghoul retainer or put this card on any mortal or ghoul ally and take control of that ally.


Forger's Hammer
Action Modifier
Only usable when this vampire successfully equips with a non-unique melee weapon from your hand.
[pot] Put this card on the weapon. This weapon inflicts +1 damage each strike.
[POT] As above, and the cost of this weapon is reduced by 1 blood or 1 pool.


There are no rules that say you cannot attempt the action and that it won't technically be successful, but instead that you will not be able to pay the cost and the item will not be acquired as if you had gone to the store without enough money. The action is still a successful action. The cost of the card is only declared was the action is announced, not required to be met.

All details of the action are declared when the action is announced, including the target(s), the cost, the effects, etc. Any card required for the action is played (face up) at this time. Tap the acting minion (only ready untapped minions can take actions).


That, I believe, is the reason for her wording.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Nov 2015 06:19 #74014 by Ankha

Any minion can attempt an action with no specific limitations even if they can't afford the cost.

That is wrong. You can't attempt an action you can't pay.

Requirements for Playing Cards. Each library card has symbols on the attribute bar (the marble stripe on the left side) for the card type (except for master cards), the clan or Discipline (if any) required to play the card and the cost (if any) of playing that card. Some cards will have other requirements (such as capacity or title) stated in the card text. Only a minion who meets the requirements given on a minion card can play it, while only a Methuselah who controls a ready minion who meets the requirements of a master card can play it.


Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Nov 2015 10:59 - 02 Nov 2015 12:37 #74028 by 2wayspeaker
So if I have Volker on 1 blood and Sunset Strip: Hollywood in play I can't reqruit a neighbourhood watch commander because it costs 2?

Neighborhood Watch Commander (Hunter) 
Ally
2 Blood
Mortal with 1 life. 1 strength, 0 bleed.When an action taken by a vampire ends unsuccessfully, you may tap this card at the end of that action to inflict 1 damage on the acting vampire. Only one Neighborhood Watch Commander may tap to inflict damage each action.

Sunset Strip, Hollywood
Master
1 pool
Master: unique location.Tap to give all vampires +1 stealth on hunt actions until your next untap phase. Tap to reduce the cost to recruit a mortal ally or employ a mortal retainer by 1 blood or pool (but never less than 0 blood or pool).

Last edit: 02 Nov 2015 12:37 by 2wayspeaker. Reason: cardtext

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.134 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum