file acting in torpor with Ghoul Escort

20 Nov 2018 04:47 #91905 by Molloy
When an acting vampire in torpor is blocked, can they burn a Ghoul Escort to untap and end the action before the blocker can choose to diablerize them?

Ghoul Escort
Ghoul with 4 life. Requires a ready vampire.
When this vampire is blocked, he or she may burn this retainer and untap instead of entering combat. (This does not untap the blocker.)

:hosk: :ani: :chi: :for: :nec: :AUS: :cap6: Sabbat. Animals, Wraiths and Zombies Molloy recruits or employs get an additional life.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2018 07:40 #91907 by Lönkka
It is usually considered good form to copy the relevant card texts to the questions.


It is actually the first thing the posting quidelines for Rules Questions mention:

1 - Quote cardtext. As a remainder, the only official source for cardtext is the vekn website . Even though some other sources are updated, not all are, and I don't have a list of who has updated their list.


www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/44519-how-to-make-a-rules-post-look-good

Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
20 Nov 2018 09:22 #91908 by jamesatzephyr

When an acting vampire in torpor is blocked, can they burn a Ghoul Escort to untap and end the action before the blocker can choose to diablerize them?


Could you point to the text that you think means Ghoul Escort ends the action, rather than merely stopping a combat?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2018 15:02 #91919 by Molloy
yes, i included the card text

:hosk: :ani: :chi: :for: :nec: :AUS: :cap6: Sabbat. Animals, Wraiths and Zombies Molloy recruits or employs get an additional life.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2018 15:09 #91920 by Molloy
Perhaps I worded my question poorly by saying "end the action."

"burn this retainer and untap instead of..." most certainly interrupts the normal resolution of the block. My question is, is the "entering combat" part a clarifier (as entering combat is what would normally follow) or is it specifying the only aspect of block resolution that is removed?

:hosk: :ani: :chi: :for: :nec: :AUS: :cap6: Sabbat. Animals, Wraiths and Zombies Molloy recruits or employs get an additional life.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Nov 2018 15:15 #91921 by jamesatzephyr

My question is, is the "entering combat" part a clarifier (as entering combat is what would normally follow) or is it specifying the only aspect of block resolution that is removed?


It's the only part of block resolution that's removed. Card text says nothing about anything else.

[LSJ 20080611]

> Crypt's Sons explicitly says that they allow you to "cancel combat and
> continue the action". Can you use their special ability on a Leave
> Torpor action, which doesn't have a combat to cancel?

While hoping the blocking vampire doesn't diablerize the acting vampire, sure.
(Same as with a Ghoul Escort).

If the blocking vampire diablerizes the acting vampire, the continuance wouldn't
get far.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.068 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum