 Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk
				Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk		
	
	
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 07:26				#104915
		by inm8
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk was created by inm8			
			
				If a vampire bleeds and plays Daring the Dawn and superior Mirror Walk and then gets blocked by an ally does the vampire need to deal with the damage from Daring the Dawn?
	
		
			
		
		
			
				
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Fortitude
 Vampires cannot block this action. This vampire takes 2 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage after action resolution.
 Vampires cannot block this action. This vampire takes 2 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage after action resolution.
 As above, but this vampire takes 1 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage.
 As above, but this vampire takes 1 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage.
			
		
	
	
		
			
		
		
			
				
Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Thaumaturgy
Do not replace until your discard phase.
 +1 stealth.
 +1 stealth.
 As above, and if this action is blocked, lock the blocking minion and end the action before block resolution.
 As above, and if this action is blocked, lock the blocking minion and end the action before block resolution.
			
		
	
			
					
			Daring the Dawn		
		Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Fortitude
 Vampires cannot block this action. This vampire takes 2 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage after action resolution.
 Vampires cannot block this action. This vampire takes 2 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage after action resolution. As above, but this vampire takes 1 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage.
 As above, but this vampire takes 1 unpreventable environmental aggravated damage.
			Mirror Walk		
		Cardtype: Action Modifier
Discipline: Thaumaturgy
Do not replace until your discard phase.
 +1 stealth.
 +1 stealth. As above, and if this action is blocked, lock the blocking minion and end the action before block resolution.
 As above, and if this action is blocked, lock the blocking minion and end the action before block resolution.
		The following user(s) said Thank You: lip 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 07:58		 -  31 Mar 2022 07:59		#104917
		by drnlmza
	
	
		
			
				
Yes, they will. The action was blocked, so the action reached action resolution. Block Resolution is just part of action resolution (see the rulebook section "Resolve an Action"), so skipping that step doesn't stop "after action resolution" consequences.
							
					
--
National Coordinator
South Africa
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by drnlmza on topic Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk			
			If a vampire bleeds and plays Daring the Dawn and superior Mirror Walk and then gets blocked by an ally does the vampire need to deal with the damage from Daring the Dawn?
Yes, they will. The action was blocked, so the action reached action resolution. Block Resolution is just part of action resolution (see the rulebook section "Resolve an Action"), so skipping that step doesn't stop "after action resolution" consequences.
--
National Coordinator
South Africa
		Last edit: 31 Mar 2022 07:59  by drnlmza.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 09:43				#104918
		by inm8
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by inm8 on topic Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk			
			
				Fully agree with you (and is how I interpret the logic as well) but not everyone sees it as such and therefore it is good for us to get an official ruling on it			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 09:43				#104919
		by Ankha
	
	
		
			
				
See Change of Target vs Daring the Dawn: groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/35vszszGZOA/m/GXrurZ9Rw-oJ
							
					
	
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Ankha on topic Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk			
			Correct, pending "after resolution" effects must be resolved if the action has reached resolution, even if the action is ended.
If a vampire bleeds and plays Daring the Dawn and superior Mirror Walk and then gets blocked by an ally does the vampire need to deal with the damage from Daring the Dawn?
Yes, they will. The action was blocked, so the action reached action resolution. Block Resolution is just part of action resolution (see the rulebook section "Resolve an Action"), so skipping that step doesn't stop "after action resolution" consequences.
See Change of Target vs Daring the Dawn: groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/35vszszGZOA/m/GXrurZ9Rw-oJ
> "Only usable when this acting minion is blocked (play before combat, if
> any). Untap the acting minion, do not tap the blocking minion, and end the
> current action. (It is not successful.) This minion cannot perform the same
> action again this turn."
>
> It used to say cancel the action or something similar to that instead of
> "end the current action." To me that suggests that CoT doesn't remove any
> side effects of playing a card such as Force of Will.
Exactly.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 17:36				#104923
		by Malachy
	
	
		
			
					
NC of Hungary
///
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Malachy on topic Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk			
			
				And how about daring damage after Tangle Antropos' Hand?
Only usable if a minion attempts to block.
[pot] Cancel the action and unlock this vampire. (The action is not blocked. Do not lock the blocking minion.)
[tem] As [pot] above, and take the action card, if any, back in your hand (discard down afterward).
[TEM] As [tem] above, and this vampire gets +1 stealth on their next action this turn.
							Only usable if a minion attempts to block.
[pot] Cancel the action and unlock this vampire. (The action is not blocked. Do not lock the blocking minion.)
[tem] As [pot] above, and take the action card, if any, back in your hand (discard down afterward).
[TEM] As [tem] above, and this vampire gets +1 stealth on their next action this turn.
NC of Hungary
///
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						31 Mar 2022 19:01		 -  01 Apr 2022 00:37		#104924
		by inm8
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by inm8 on topic Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk			
			
				Tangle Atropos' Hand "cancels the action" which closes the window for playing more modifiers/reactions and triggering effects
There is no "end of action", the action cannot reach resolution as it is canceled before it
and any ”after resolution” delayed effects do not resolve.
In other words, the damage of Daring the Dawn is not done.
					There is no "end of action", the action cannot reach resolution as it is canceled before it
and any ”after resolution” delayed effects do not resolve.
In other words, the damage of Daring the Dawn is not done.
		Last edit: 01 Apr 2022 00:37  by inm8.		Reason: Corrected the answer	
	
		The following user(s) said Thank You: Malachy 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
		Time to create page: 0.090 seconds	
- You are here:
- 
											Home
					
											
							  
- 
											Forum
					
											
							  
- 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							  
- 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							  
- Daring the Dawn and Mirror Walk
 
											 
						

 
			 
			 
			
 
			