file Reactions and action modifiers timing

20 Aug 2022 10:27 - 20 Aug 2022 10:44 #106057 by Raven
Hello,

I found that text on rulebook

"Action modifiers and reaction cards can be played at any time before resolution during an action, with the acting Methuselah getting the opportunity to play first. "

And

"3. Resolve the Action

If the action is successful (all block attempts were unsuccessful), then the cost of the action is paid and the effects of the successful action take place.

If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat). If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat), neither consequence occurs. The effects of the action do not take place when the action is blocked. Note that the action’s cost, if any, is only paid if the action succeeds; the cost is not paid if the action is blocked. The costs of action modifiers and reaction cards are always paid when the cards are played, regardless of the success of the action."

Does it mean that all action modifiers like Zephyr of Freak Drive should be played before combat?

If no, can player play Eyes of Argus after combat?
Last edit: 20 Aug 2022 10:44 by Raven.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Aug 2022 12:42 - 20 Aug 2022 15:09 #106058 by Legion
Acting player cannot play Eyes of Argus because 1st
- it's a reaction card and acting player cannot play reaction card during his own actions. And 2nd:

- all players cannot play reaction cards after action resolution (if they don't contain text that explicitly allows to do so), but they play Wake cards (Can be played after action resolution to use a reaction card LSJ ruling)

Zephyr and Freak Drive can be played ONLY after action resolution because both have a card's text 'Only usable after action resolution'
Last edit: 20 Aug 2022 15:09 by Legion.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2022 13:43 #106062 by Raven
Ok,

but should Zephyr or Freak Drive be played before or after combat?

Is combat a part of action resolution?

Same with Cat's Guidance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2022 13:46 #106063 by Ankha

Ok,

but should Zephyr or Freak Drive be played before or after combat?

Is combat a part of action resolution?

Same with Cat's Guidance.

Combat is the resolution of the (blocked) action.
So those cards must be played after.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Aug 2022 17:36 #106077 by lip
If you have further question, do not hesitate to check the cards rulings on VDB or on the Codex. They often list the answers to most common questions like this one, with links to the relevant discussions and explanations on the official boards. (see for example for Freak Drive codex-of-the-damned.org/en/card-search.html?card=Freak+Drive , first ruling)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Aug 2022 22:46 #106079 by Bloodartist

Zephyr and Freak Drive can be played ONLY after action resolution because both have a card's text 'Only usable after action resolution'


Its still counterintuitive and unclear whether there is any "action" left to play action modifiers after an action has resolved. After it has resolved, that means its over, right?

At least, my brain can't quite grasp the concept. I know a ruling exists, but I keep forgetting it because the whole situation is illogical.

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.113 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum