file Move cards to ash heap timing

04 Jan 2023 22:53 - 05 Jan 2023 08:35 #107125 by inm8
The general rule for when moving cards to the ash heap is clear.

Playing a Card

A card is played by announcing its effects, showing the card and placing it from the hand in the ash heap.


And so is the case for action cards when the action is blocked

3. Resolve the Action

[…]

If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat).


But when does the action card of a successful action (unblocked) and strike cards (aka limbo cards) go to the ash heap?
The detailed play summary (II.D) states that it is at resolution….which isn’t clear if that means when reaching the resolve step or after the action/combat has ended/concluded.
Last edit: 05 Jan 2023 08:35 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jan 2023 14:36 #107135 by lip

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jan 2023 18:14 #107144 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Move cards to ash heap timing

The general rule for when moving cards to the ash heap is clear.

Playing a Card

A card is played by announcing its effects, showing the card and placing it from the hand in the ash heap.


And so is the case for action cards when the action is blocked

3. Resolve the Action

[…]

If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat).


But when does the action card of a successful action (unblocked) and strike cards (aka limbo cards) go to the ash heap?


If the action is successful, the action card is either being put in play or going to ash heap during the resolution. It's effectively in play or in the ash heap once the resolution is over.

Same thing for the strike card: a Serpent's Numbing Kiss at superior would be effectively on the opposing minion once the resolution is over (or in the ash heap at inferior).

Action and strike cards are in limbo between the moment they are played and the moment they resolve.

If the action is blocked, it is put in the ash heap before the block resolution. You could for instance play a Summon Spirit Beast at [spi] on a blocked Raven Spy.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jan 2023 21:09 #107147 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Move cards to ash heap timing
Apologize but it still not clear to me when exactly the cards are moved to the ash heap, so here goes some follow-on questions

If the action is successful, the action card is either being put in play or going to ash heap during the resolution.

1) "during the resolution." when exactly is this?

The Sudario Refraction you play cannot be chosen for its own effect, because it doesn't go to the ash heap until the resolution is over.

2) In another thread you say that the action card "doesn't go to the ash heap until the resolution is over", when is it...during or after the resolution?

It's effectively in play or in the ash heap once the resolution is over.

Same thing for the strike card: a Serpent's Numbing Kiss at superior would be effectively on the opposing minion once the resolution is over (or in the ash heap at inferior).

3) When referring to "the resolution" in all the 3 quotes above are we talking about the card's effect or the action as a whole? or are they one and the same thing?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Jan 2023 10:12 - 06 Jan 2023 10:15 #107150 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Move cards to ash heap timing

Apologize but it still not clear to me when exactly the cards are moved to the ash heap, so here goes some follow-on questions

If the action is successful, the action card is either being put in play or going to ash heap during the resolution.

1) "during the resolution." when exactly is this?

Notice the use of the present continuous, just like "a vampire go*ing* to torpor" is not in torpor until the end of combat.
So while the effect is *being* resolved, the card is *being* put in play or in the ash heap.

But what you really want to know is in the part you didn't quote: "It *is* effectively in play or in the ash heap once the resolution is over."

The Sudario Refraction you play cannot be chosen for its own effect, because it doesn't go to the ash heap until the resolution is over.

2) In another thread you say that the action card "doesn't go to the ash heap until the resolution is over", when is it...during or after the resolution?

"Until the resolution is over" excludes "during resolution" by definition. So it's right after.

It's effectively in play or in the ash heap once the resolution is over.

Same thing for the strike card: a Serpent's Numbing Kiss at superior would be effectively on the opposing minion once the resolution is over (or in the ash heap at inferior).

3) When referring to "the resolution" in all the 3 quotes above are we talking about the card's effect or the action as a whole? or are they one and the same thing?

They are the same thing.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 06 Jan 2023 10:15 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Jan 2023 12:21 #107152 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Move cards to ash heap timing
Final question.

Where is the action card (still in limbo or in the ash heap) when one plays cards like Freak Drive, Spying Mission (both from hand and in play) and Dis Pater?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.135 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum