file Heaven's Gate vs Charigger the Axe

15 Aug 2023 09:32 - 15 Aug 2023 09:39 #109037 by lip
A has Ossian in play and a vampire with :obe:, B has a vampire with Charigger, The Axe. Ossian burns in combat. Can A play Heaven's Gate before Charigger's ability triggers?

1. It depends on who's acting (Sequencing)
2. No, Charigger's ability always takes precedence

Relevant rulings: [ANK 20210627] [LSJ 20071003]

Note that it's clear that both (as replacement effects) have precedence over effects that depend on the minion burning (eg. Kherebutu and other mummies)

Heaven's Gate

Charigger, The Axe
Last edit: 15 Aug 2023 09:39 by lip.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Aug 2023 11:46 #109038 by Hakuron
It should first depend on the impulse and second on the chosen sequencing.

I compare it with the question "Who is allowed to announce a block ignoring the regular restrictions first". It is not Anneke by default, it is the player who gets the impulse first.
Thus if player A were acting/had the impulse he could play "Heaven's Gate" before the effect of "Charigger, The Axe", and if player B were acting/had the impulse then the effect of "Charigger, The Axe" would kick in first.

And a player controlling both a Vampire with Obeah and "Charigger, The Axe" should be allowed to choose if he wished to play "Heaven's Gate" before the effect of "Charigger, The Axe" kicks in.

National Coordinator Germany
nc [dot] germany [at] magenta [dot] de

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2023 05:45 #109057 by Ankha

It should first depend on the impulse and second on the chosen sequencing.

I compare it with the question "Who is allowed to announce a block ignoring the regular restrictions first". It is not Anneke by default, it is the player who gets the impulse first.
Thus if player A were acting/had the impulse he could play "Heaven's Gate" before the effect of "Charigger, The Axe", and if player B were acting/had the impulse then the effect of "Charigger, The Axe" would kick in first.

And a player controlling both a Vampire with Obeah and "Charigger, The Axe" should be allowed to choose if he wished to play "Heaven's Gate" before the effect of "Charigger, The Axe" kicks in.

Correct.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hakuron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.100 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum