file Declining blocks impulse, Conditioning and Eagle's Sight

27 Aug 2023 15:37 #109184 by Bloodartist

So I cannot play GtU and (respecting DI etc.) play Conditioning immediately?


You can. After every card, the active player has the first opportunity to play cards. This includes after your own govern the unaligned. However, canceling GtU with something like DI is still possible.

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Aug 2023 17:34 #109185 by Ankha

Only cards with explicit text (e.g. "when the action is announced") are played in the "as announced" window and as soon as another card that isn´t played as announced the "as announced" window is closed and no more as announced cards can be played.


So I cannot play GtU and (respecting DI etc.) play Conditioning immediately?
The same sequencing rule say:
At every stage, the acting Methuselah always has the opportunity to play the next card or effect. So after playing one effect, they may play another and another.
I see no reason why Condition couldn't be played in "as the action is announced" window.

You can play Govern the Unaligned followed by Conditioning, but there is no “as announced” effects on those cards.

What I meant to clarify is that one cannot play Govern the Unaligned followed by Conditioning and then Seduction (as announced card) because when playing Conditioning the “as announced” window is considered passed and closed…for it to be a legal play one has to play GtU followed by Seduction and then Conditioning.

Govern the Unaligned


Conditioning


Warning: Spoiler!


Correct.

One can play as many "as announced" effects that one can and wants but once one plays an effect that isn´t played in the "as announced" window or pass the impulse the "as announced” window is closed for that action.

Also correct.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Aug 2023 18:10 - 28 Aug 2023 16:12 #109186 by inm8

You should always ask the AUS player, wether he likes to block, before going on. Then you should be safe.

Clearly, there is a conflict of interest if the acting is expected to be reminding other players that they should check if they want to play something at each stage of the game.
Last edit: 28 Aug 2023 16:12 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Aug 2023 09:32 #109187 by Lönkka

You should always ask the AUS player, wether he likes to block, before going on. Then you should be safe.


Indeed.

Then again, sometimes a player forgets to do certain things and you don't necessarily want to remind of them the things they might've forgotten...

Wait a while after the target of the bleed is declined, quickly look through the other players, say something in the lines of "since there are no blocks...", wait a second or two and then modify the bleed.

If critical situation, call judge to observe just in case.

Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Away
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
28 Aug 2023 13:27 - 28 Aug 2023 13:47 #109192 by KoRneeshon

One can play as many "as announced" effects that one can and wants but once one plays an effect that isn´t played in the "as announced" window or pass the impulse the "as announced” window is closed for that action.


Understood, e.g. stealth boosting action modifier definitely is not played in "as announced" window, because it (usually) requires a block attempt. But what is the reason Conditioning cannot be played in as announced window? "Only usable as the action is announced" is a limitation for some action modifiers so that they cannot be played later during the action, sure. But what makes Conditioning unplayable in "as the action is announced" window?

EDIT: I think I found good reasoning that you're right.
Current Conditioning has this text: "Only usable during a bleed action", so if we assume the action starts after it is announced, then Conditioning cannot be played in the "as the action is announced" window. I was looking at the old card text from HttB that had only "you cannot play another action modifier (...)". Peace :)
Last edit: 28 Aug 2023 13:47 by KoRneeshon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Aug 2023 15:54 - 28 Aug 2023 15:55 #109193 by inm8
The actual reason why you cannot play Conditioning and other modifiers that don't explicitly say that they are played in the "as announced" window is that the default timing window for modifiers is after action announcement and before action resolution, thus only modifiers with explicit text allowing them to be played outside the default window can do so.
Last edit: 28 Aug 2023 15:55 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.066 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum