Queued combats
13 Jun 2025 23:51 #114692
by Kilrauko
Thanks for the chart, how does Strix SUP work with active Hedonism queued combat?
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Replied by Kilrauko on topic Queued combats
Warning: Spoiler!From: www.blackchantry.com/2025/06/12/new-sabbat-rules-terms-and-errata/
Queue a combat: set up a future combat during the resolution of an action.Combats always occur during the action resolution. It is not possible to queue a combat after the action resolution, and it is not possible to queue more than one combat.
- If a combat is queued during another combat, the queued combat will start after the current combat ends.
- If a combat is queued before action resolution, the queued combat will start after resolving the action, but still as part of the action resolution:
- if the action is blocked, the queued combat will start after the block resolution, that is after the combat resulting from the block ends (if any)
- if the action is successful, the queued combat will start after the effects of the action have taken place.
Q: If a combat is "queued" by Hedonism and the action is blocked, when is it possible to play Cats' Guidance (or Truth in Darkness)?
A: The queued combat occurs right after the combat induced by the block. Cats' Guidance can be played once all combats are over.
Q: Let's assume there is no combat queued. The combat induced by a block ends, and Psyche! is played to start a new combat, can I play Cats' Guidance before the new combat?
A: No. The combat started by Psyche! uses the same queue of combats. So, you will have to wait for all the combats to be over.
Q: Can I play Psyche! if there is a pending combat due to Hedonism?
A: No, since there is already a combat queued. You could play Telepathic Tracking or Hunting the Quarry to extend the combat though.
Q: Can I play Hidden Lurker if there is a pending combat due to Hedonism?
A: No, for the same reason. And you cannot play it after the Hedonism combat neither because the requirements are not met (the Hedonism combat does not involve the blocking minion).
Q: If I play Form of Mist at superior, can I burn a blood to continue the action if there is a pending combat due to Hedonism?
A: No, actions cannot be continued while there is a pending combat.
Q: Let's say there is no combat queued. I play Form of Mist at superior, what happens if Psyche! is played?
A: The action does not continue. A new combat starts.
Q: What if my vampire was blocked, a Psyche! was played. Could I play Form of Mist at superior to continue the action at some point?
A: Yes, but only in the final combat (if all conditions are met).
Thanks for the chart, how does Strix SUP work with active Hedonism queued combat?
Name: Strix
[HttB:R]
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Striga
Burn Option
[str] +1 intercept, even if intercept is not yet needed. If this vampire successfully blocks this action, he or she unlocks at the end of the action. [str] is not a Discipline.
[STR] Only usable when a bleed against you {is about to} be successful. The bleed burns no pool {(but is still successful),} this vampire {is locked} and enters combat with the acting minion.
Artist: Justin Norman
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
14 Jun 2025 08:06 #114693
by Hobbesgoblin
I think it is.
The concrete question would be:
Sirens lure contradicts this FAQ by card text.
Does this Post constitute a Ruling on Sirens Lure, or does Sirens Lures card text take precedent via the "golden rule"?
Replied by Hobbesgoblin on topic Queued combats
Probably, but this is not a rule question.Sirens lure says by card text:
Only usable by a ready unlocked vampire other than the acting minion if a minion attempts to block. That attempt fails and the blocking minion cannot attempt to block this action again. Lock this vampire and the blocking minion. After the action resolution, this vampire and the blocking minion enter combat.
Is Sirens lure, which is already avaible on POD, going to be changed to reflect this this?
I think it is.
The concrete question would be:
Sirens lure contradicts this FAQ by card text.
Does this Post constitute a Ruling on Sirens Lure, or does Sirens Lures card text take precedent via the "golden rule"?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Hobbesgoblin
-
- Away
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 169
- Thank you received: 48
Time to create page: 0.090 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Queued combats