Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
17 Jun 2025 22:12 #114715
by Krusti
Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage was created by Krusti
If a vampire is affected by Touch of Oblivion at OBL and aggravated damage simultaneously, which effect is handled first?
In case Touch of Oblivion is handled first, the vampire would be considered wounded, and could by burned by aggravated damage.
In case the aggravated damage is handled first, the vampire would be wounded and going to torpor, but then Touch of Oblivion woudn't affect him, because he is already in her way to torpor.
Rulebook states that normal damage is handled first, then aggravated damage. But I can't find anything about these torpor effects (Entombment, Coma, Touch of Oblivion).
Combat
Touch of Oblivion
Oblivion Strike: put this card on the opposing minion with 2 counters. The attached minion burns 1 counter from this card instead of unlocking as normal. If this card has no counters, burn it.
Superior Oblivion Strike: send the opposing vampire to torpor or burn the opposing ally.
In case Touch of Oblivion is handled first, the vampire would be considered wounded, and could by burned by aggravated damage.
In case the aggravated damage is handled first, the vampire would be wounded and going to torpor, but then Touch of Oblivion woudn't affect him, because he is already in her way to torpor.
Rulebook states that normal damage is handled first, then aggravated damage. But I can't find anything about these torpor effects (Entombment, Coma, Touch of Oblivion).
Combat
Touch of Oblivion
Oblivion Strike: put this card on the opposing minion with 2 counters. The attached minion burns 1 counter from this card instead of unlocking as normal. If this card has no counters, burn it.
Superior Oblivion Strike: send the opposing vampire to torpor or burn the opposing ally.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
18 Jun 2025 09:55 #114717
by hardyrange
"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Tradition Compliance Manager
Replied by hardyrange on topic Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
I think that would depend on what the exact source is for that aggravated damage... would you have an example?
In combat, the usuals order of things would be:
Combat Sequence
Combat occurs in a series of one or more rounds. Each round of combat has seven steps:
1. Before Range: Play cards before range is chosen.
2. Determine Range: Use maneuvers to change the range to close or long.
3. Before Strikes: Play cards before strikes are chosen.
4. Strike: Announce and resolve strikes.
5. Damage Resolution: Prevent and mend damage.
6. Press: Use presses to continue into another round or to end combat.
7. End of Round: End of round cards and effects are played here.
This usually means that the Touch of Oblivion resolves first, in step 4.
Damage handling - including aggravated damage - only happens later in combat, in step 5.
In combat, the usuals order of things would be:
Combat Sequence
Combat occurs in a series of one or more rounds. Each round of combat has seven steps:
1. Before Range: Play cards before range is chosen.
2. Determine Range: Use maneuvers to change the range to close or long.
3. Before Strikes: Play cards before strikes are chosen.
4. Strike: Announce and resolve strikes.
5. Damage Resolution: Prevent and mend damage.
6. Press: Use presses to continue into another round or to end combat.
7. End of Round: End of round cards and effects are played here.
This usually means that the Touch of Oblivion resolves first, in step 4.
Damage handling - including aggravated damage - only happens later in combat, in step 5.
"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Tradition Compliance Manager
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- hardyrange
-
- Offline
- Methuselah
-
18 Jun 2025 11:51 #114722
by Hobbesgoblin
Replied by Hobbesgoblin on topic Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
The most common case where this could happen would be "deal damage durign the normal strike resolution phase" under an effect like Dawn Operation.
In the case of Aggravated damage being inflicted at the same time as "touch of oblivion" is resolved, the vampire goes to torpor before dmage is appled, becase all damage dealt opens a "damage resolution" window, where damage can be prevented or must be mended.
so tl;dr:
If a vampire is inflicted with aggravated damage at the same time as touch of oblivion resolves, they go to torpor first.
In the case of Aggravated damage being inflicted at the same time as "touch of oblivion" is resolved, the vampire goes to torpor before dmage is appled, becase all damage dealt opens a "damage resolution" window, where damage can be prevented or must be mended.
so tl;dr:
If a vampire is inflicted with aggravated damage at the same time as touch of oblivion resolves, they go to torpor first.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Hobbesgoblin
-
- Offline
- Elder
-
Less
More
- Posts: 173
- Thank you received: 48
29 Jul 2025 00:50 #115088
by the1andonlime
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Replied by the1andonlime on topic Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
To further clarify Hobbes' answer:
1. Touch and damage happens when strikes resolve
2. Touched vampire goes to torpor and opposing vampire now has aggravated damage dealt to them
3. Opposing vampire now has to prevent the aggravated damage or becomes wounded or , if already wounded, burn blood to prevent destruction
1. Touch and damage happens when strikes resolve
2. Touched vampire goes to torpor and opposing vampire now has aggravated damage dealt to them
3. Opposing vampire now has to prevent the aggravated damage or becomes wounded or , if already wounded, burn blood to prevent destruction
Suaku
Inceptor Asian Continental Championship
興っ
www.youtube.com/SuakuOz
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- the1andonlime
-
- Offline
- Methuselah
-
Less
More
- Posts: 279
- Thank you received: 29
29 Jul 2025 18:41 #115098
by DavidR
David Resende - Prince of Teresina




Replied by DavidR on topic Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
Is a efect applied by a strike, will be handled like theft of vitae, the agravetted damed will be applied and handled on the next step (prevent and mend damage), so the vampire will be already on torpor
David Resende - Prince of Teresina







Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
29 Jul 2025 21:55 - 29 Jul 2025 21:57 #115100
by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage
The vampire doesn't go to torpor when resolving the strike but after combat.
The "send to torpor" effect makes the target "wounded" (i.e. not ready, going to torpor), it doesn´t immediately move the target to torpor.
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/81514-move-vampire-to-torpor-ash-heap-timing?start=6#111688
The "send to torpor" effect makes the target "wounded" (i.e. not ready, going to torpor), it doesn´t immediately move the target to torpor.
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/81514-move-vampire-to-torpor-ash-heap-timing?start=6#111688
Last edit: 29 Jul 2025 21:57 by inm8.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Time to create page: 0.095 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Simultaneous Touch of Oblivion and aggravated damage