Burning Hunting the Quarry
Name: Hunting the Quarry
[SV5:PCaine6]
Cardtype: Combat
Path: Caine
Discipline: Celerity/Thaumaturgy
Only usable if both combatants are still ready. A vampire can play only one Hunting the Quarry each combat.
[cel] or [tha] Only usable if combat is about to end. Put this card on the opposing minion. You still control this card. Vampires you control can burn this card to attempt to enter combat with the attached minion as a +1 stealthaction.
[CEL] or [THA] Only usable if combat would end. Instead, this vampire burns 1 blood to start a new round.
Artist: Michele Bertilorenzi
Inferior Hunting the Quarry is written in a way that makes me a bit confused, with that "vampires" in the plural and the "burn to attempt" formulation.
Is burning the card the cost of the action (hence, not payed if it is unsuccessful), or the card needs to be burned anyway to attempt the action, whether successful or not? Thank you!
Emiliano "Sans Terre" - Wandering Player - Prince of Brussels
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Name: Hunting the Quarry
[SV5:PCaine6]
Cardtype: Combat
Path: Caine
Discipline: Celerity/Thaumaturgy
Only usable if both combatants are still ready. A vampire can play only one Hunting the Quarry each combat.
[cel] or [tha] Only usable if combat is about to end. Put this card on the opposing minion. You still control this card. Vampires you control can burn this card to attempt to enter combat with the attached minion as a +1 stealthaction.
[CEL] or [THA] Only usable if combat would end. Instead, this vampire burns 1 blood to start a new round.
Artist: Michele Bertilorenzi
Inferior Hunting the Quarry is written in a way that makes me a bit confused, with that "vampires" in the plural and the "burn to attempt" formulation.
Is burning the card the cost of the action (hence, not payed if it is unsuccessful), or the card needs to be burned anyway to attempt the action, whether successful or not? Thank you!
Short;
Cost.
Long;
See Strike with Conviction RTR 20111202 on
www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/16769-rules-team-rulings-02-dec-11#16769
... Strike with Conviction:
If the action to bleed with Strike with Conviction is blocked, Strike with Conviction isn’t burned. The action it provides is to burn it and bleed (none of which happens if the action is blocked). ...
To me Hunting the Quarry inf after user and target restrictions shortens to "Burn to enter combat as a +1 stealth
Name: Strike with Conviction
[NoR:C]
Cardtype: Conviction
Burn to make a hand or weapon strike against a monster at +1 damage.
Burn to bleed at +1 bleed as a (D) action.
Artist: Mark PooleTrust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
Emiliano "Sans Terre" - Wandering Player - Prince of Brussels
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
I started from the same point of view, but was put out of balance (after a discussion on the Italian chat) by the “burn to attempt” wording: if it were “burn to enter combat” I would have no doubt that it is a cost. Like this, hmmm… still doubting.
Well looking to the attempt more, there is www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/80129-fall-of-london-card-rules-questions#106688the
where "Lock the card in order to announce the action." is answer to Mobile HQ, Operation Antigen which would indicate the burning of Hunting the Quarry is part of the announcement of the action.
Which begs to question, does this warrant REVERSAL of the various "burn blood to attempt action" LSJ rulings or the RTR strike with conviction ruling. Or is there a difference and if so, what, that separates them. Is it the "attempt" word even when it's part of Enrage's ruling in groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/07gUFmSeIxU/m/yIrwcMsATB4J
Latest ruling applying makes the Mobile HQ, Operation Antigen as the way to go tho.
Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- Burning Hunting the Quarry
