file Does Catatonic Fear + Target Vitals work?

14 Mar 2013 00:32 #46066 by KevinM
FOR PASCAL:

Does Catatonic Fear + Target Vitals "work"?
Why or Why Not?
Links please, thank you for your time
:)

Kevin M., Prince of Las Vegas
"Know your enemy and know yourself; in one-thousand battles
you shall never be in peril." -- Sun Tzu, *The Art of War*
"Contentment...Complacency...Catastrophe!" -- Joseph Chevalier
Please visit VTESville daily! vtesville.myminicity.com/
Facebook:...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2013 00:36 - 14 Mar 2013 00:39 #46067 by Reyda
in a nutshell !
lsj already ruled that it works.
(search the old google groups EDIT: did it for ya : groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/plqseTAyBJo )

The damage cannot be prevented by usual means (cause it's done outside combat).
If you dodge, you are protected from it, as usual.

Imagination is our only weapon in the war against reality -Jules de Gaultier
Last edit: 14 Mar 2013 00:39 by Reyda.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2013 06:12 #46069 by Chaitan
And you can always discard two combat cards to cancel TV as it is played.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2013 06:59 #46070 by Pascal Bertrand

KevinM wrote: FOR PASCAL:

Does Catatonic Fear + Target Vitals "work"?
Why or Why Not?
Links please, thank you for your time
:)


Name: Catatonic Fear
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Presence
 Strike: combat ends.
 As above, and inflict 1 damage to the opposing minion once combat ends if the range is close.

Name: Target Vitals
Cardtype: Combat
Aim. Play when choosing a strike.
If any damage from this strike is successfully inflicted on the opposing minion, he or she takes an additional 2 damage from this strike, and he or she cannot press this round. The opposing minion may discard two combat cards [COMBAT] to cancel this card. A minion may play only one aim each strike.


Yes, it "works" (i.e. Catatonic Fear would inflict 1+2 damage after combat ends). Reyda provided the link: [LSJ 20070927] .

Why: because Catatonic Fear is a strike that inflicts damage (if it isn't prevented*), and Target Vitals add damage to a damage-inflicting strike.

*: Remember, only Leather Jacket can save you from Catatonic Fear's damage. Regular combat cards can't, as they are only usable in combat, and Catatonic Fear's damage happens after combat has ended.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2013 20:25 - 14 Mar 2013 20:26 #46082 by Reyda
Surge would also save an imbued since the counters last for the duration of the action.(Note that react with conviction could also be used to cancel the Catatonic as it is played. )

Imagination is our only weapon in the war against reality -Jules de Gaultier
Last edit: 14 Mar 2013 20:26 by Reyda.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Pascal Bertrand

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Mar 2013 10:47 - 18 Mar 2013 10:48 #46139 by Shockwave
This same ruling also came to apply to Loving Agony, incidentally, which I think is the only other effec that comes under the same mechanism.

(The two cards were worded differently, but actually inflict the damage in the same way, afaik.)

:AUS: :FOR: :VAL: Here we go again....
Dave Knowles (Advanced)
Sabbat Bishop of Manchester
Last edit: 18 Mar 2013 10:48 by Shockwave.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.156 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum