lightbulb Rulebook: Potentially misleading and oddly placed passages

23 Sep 2023 17:49 - 23 Sep 2023 17:53 #109397 by Hobbesgoblin
An actual "living ruleboiok" style rulebook might be a good idea, as the actual printings are probably tied to reprints of the v5 base box.

anyway, new content for the pile:

Order of play is never actually explicetly defined in text (in the online rulebook, the PDF has it)
It says what and who your prey and predator is, under "Order of play" but actualy does not tell you the order of play.

Also Sequencing AND declare blocker order is explicetly defined as clockwise and are not tited to direction of play

This leads to the fact that if Reversal of Fortunes is played, Sequencing order is still clockwise, even if play order is counter-clockwise.
Last edit: 23 Sep 2023 17:53 by Hobbesgoblin.
The following user(s) said Thank You: self biased

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2023 10:33 #109451 by Hobbesgoblin
I think the section about "hunt actions" should be updated to refelct the ruling that +hunt also increases the blood stolen/gained by alterante hunt actions like the ones provided by week of nightmares or Restricted vitae
The following user(s) said Thank You: self biased

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Oct 2023 16:10 #109556 by Hobbesgoblin
The rulebook currently says

During your influence phase you may spend transfers as follows:

◼ Spend 1 transfer to move 1 pool counter from your pool to a vampire in your uncontrolled region.

◼ Spend 2 transfers to move 1 blood counter from a vampire in your uncontrolled region to your pool.

◼ Spend 4 transfers and burn 1 pool to move a vampire from your crypt to your uncontrolled region.


So by RAW the "pay 1 to see one option" isn't from the top of the crypt, but a seemingly any card (without looking at it)

Sicne I am 99% sure that it should be from the top, that should be changed to
"draw a vampire from your crypt and move it to your uncontrolled region."
or
" move a vampire from the top of your crypt to your uncontrolled region."
The following user(s) said Thank You: Joscha

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Oct 2023 07:53 #109558 by inm8

The rulebook currently says

During your influence phase you may spend transfers as follows:

◼ Spend 1 transfer to move 1 pool counter from your pool to a vampire in your uncontrolled region.

◼ Spend 2 transfers to move 1 blood counter from a vampire in your uncontrolled region to your pool.

◼ Spend 4 transfers and burn 1 pool to move a vampire from your crypt to your uncontrolled region.


So by RAW the "pay 1 to see one option" isn't from the top of the crypt, but a seemingly any card (without looking at it)

Sicne I am 99% sure that it should be from the top, that should be changed to
"draw a vampire from your crypt and move it to your uncontrolled region."
or
" move a vampire from the top of your crypt to your uncontrolled region."


The rules used to read pre V5 per below (highlight in bold by me), so clearly another miss from the transition to the V5 version of the rules

◼ Spend four transfers and burn a pool to move a vampire from your crypt to your uncontrolled region (drawing from the top, as always).

The following user(s) said Thank You: Joscha

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Nov 2023 15:08 #109716 by Hobbesgoblin

(self) Leave Torpor
If this action is blocked, there is no combat (vampires in torpor cannot enter combat). Instead, if the blocker is a vampire, they get the opportunity to diablerise the acting vampire (see Diablerie, p. 34).

If the action is blocked, then any card played to perform the action is burned and the block is resolved with these two simultaneous consequences: the blocking minion is locked and enters combat with the acting minion (see Combat). If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat), neither consequence occurs.


If you take the rulebook literally here, blocking a self rescue doesnt lock the blocker, as there is no enter combat, and if you dont enter combat, the blocker is also not locked.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Nov 2023 16:13 - 01 Nov 2023 17:19 #109717 by Hobbesgoblin
also the test passage about

If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat), neither consequence occurs.

should also probably read

If an effect ends the action before the block resolution or one of these two consequences (such as entering combat) [/b]are stopped[/b], neither consequence occurs.

or similar as the current wording is gramatically questionable, how can you "end locking the blocker" or "end entering combat"?
Last edit: 01 Nov 2023 17:19 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Time to create page: 0.075 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum