file Direct Intervention

29 Sep 2021 10:27 - 29 Sep 2021 10:40 #103375 by Raven
Direct Intervention was created by Raven
Hello,

I have read definition of Wake effect from rulebook

Wake: A vampire that wakes during an action can attempt to block that action and/or play reaction cards as though unlocked for the duration of the action. Wake effects can always be played during the “as a card is played” window, in order to play other reaction cards that must be played in that window. A reaction card that unlocks a vampire but does not wake it is not considered as a wake effect and cannot be played during the “as a card is played” window.

Then I have looked at Direct Intervention

Direct Intervention

Master: out-of-turn.

Cancel a minion card as it is played. No cost is paid. (If it was an action card, the acting minion doesn't lock. If it was a strike card, the minion chooses another strike.)

And now question:

If a player plays action card, should I play DI on this action immediately after the action is annouced, or I can wait and play it after some modifiers/reactions are played?

I'm asking because all this things happens in “as a card is played” window.
Last edit: 29 Sep 2021 10:40 by Raven.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 11:23 - 29 Sep 2021 11:23 #103377 by Hobbesgoblin
Replied by Hobbesgoblin on topic Direct Intervention
You have to play Direct Intervention immideatly after the card you want to cancel, in this case the action card, is played. Technically you even have to play it even before the card is redrawn.
Last edit: 29 Sep 2021 11:23 by Hobbesgoblin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 11:54 #103378 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Direct Intervention
Wake cards can be played in that window in order to play other reaction cards that are played in that window (for instance Evil Eye)

Evil Eye
Combat / Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Do not replace until your unlock phase.
[mal] [COMBAT] Cancel a strike card played by the opposing minion as it is played (no cost is paid). The opposing minion cannot choose another strike and gets no strike instead. [mal] is not a Discipline.
[MAL] [REACTION] Cancel an action card as it is played and lock the acting minion.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: Charles_Bronson

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 12:23 #103379 by Yomyael
Replied by Yomyael on topic Direct Intervention

Wake cards can be played in that window in order to play other reaction cards that are played in that window (for instance Evil Eye)

Evil Eye
Combat / Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Do not replace until your unlock phase.
[mal] [COMBAT] Cancel a strike card played by the opposing minion as it is played (no cost is paid). The opposing minion cannot choose another strike and gets no strike instead. [mal] is not a Discipline.
[MAL] [REACTION] Cancel an action card as it is played and lock the acting minion.


Something I've wondered (don't know if it's been answered somewhere already) is, if you can play a wake in the hopes of replacing a card like Evil Eye to cancel another card, or if you have to have the Evil Eye in hand at the time you play the wake.

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 12:25 - 01 Oct 2021 08:04 #103380 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Direct Intervention

Wake cards can be played in that window in order to play other reaction cards that are played in that window (for instance Evil Eye)

Evil Eye
Combat / Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Do not replace until your unlock phase.
[mal] [COMBAT] Cancel a strike card played by the opposing minion as it is played (no cost is paid). The opposing minion cannot choose another strike and gets no strike instead. [mal] is not a Discipline.
[MAL] [REACTION] Cancel an action card as it is played and lock the acting minion.


Something I've wondered (don't know if it's been answered somewhere already) is, if you can play a wake in the hopes of replacing a card like Evil Eye to cancel another card, or if you have to have the Evil Eye in hand at the time you play the wake.

You can play a wake and hope to draw a cancellation card.

EDIT: rulebook will be clarified to reflect this ruling: groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/6w8K3yDtBH0/m/M_SZH9Id8n8J
So you won't replace the wake card until the whole "as played" window is closed.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 01 Oct 2021 08:04 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Charles_Bronson, Yomyael

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 12:57 #103382 by Hobbesgoblin
Replied by Hobbesgoblin on topic Direct Intervention

Wake cards can be played in that window in order to play other reaction cards that are played in that window (for instance Evil Eye)

Evil Eye
Combat / Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Do not replace until your unlock phase.
[mal] [COMBAT] Cancel a strike card played by the opposing minion as it is played (no cost is paid). The opposing minion cannot choose another strike and gets no strike instead. [mal] is not a Discipline.
[MAL] [REACTION] Cancel an action card as it is played and lock the acting minion.


Something I've wondered (don't know if it's been answered somewhere already) is, if you can play a wake in the hopes of replacing a card like Evil Eye to cancel another card, or if you have to have the Evil Eye in hand at the time you play the wake.

You can play a wake and hope to draw a cancellation card.


I feel that contradics the rulebook though:

ADVANCED RULES

Some effects can cancel a card “as it is played.” These effects, as well as wake effects, are the only effects allowed during the “as played” time period of another card. Even drawing to replace cards, comes after this time period.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.088 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum