file Direct Intervention

29 Sep 2021 13:10 - 30 Sep 2021 18:57 #103383 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic Direct Intervention

I feel that contradics the rulebook though:

ADVANCED RULES

Some effects can cancel a card “as it is played.” These effects, as well as wake effects, are the only effects allowed during the “as played” time period of another card. Even drawing to replace cards, comes after this time period.


It is not drawing the replacement of the reaction/cancelation card that comes after but the drawing of the replacement of the card that is being woken against/canceled... this because these cards (wakes and cancels) are played in the "as it is played" window which is in between playing a card and drawing its replacement.
Last edit: 30 Sep 2021 18:57 by inm8. Reason: Editor change again, why?!?!? I like the previous one better.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 14:05 - 01 Oct 2021 08:04 #103385 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Direct Intervention

I feel that contradics the rulebook though:

ADVANCED RULES

Some effects can cancel a card “as it is played.” These effects, as well as wake effects, are the only effects allowed during the “as played” time period of another card. Even drawing to replace cards, comes after this time period.


It is not drawing the replacement of the reaction/cancelation card that comes after but the drawing of the replacement of the card that is being woken against/canceled... this because these cards (wakes and cancels) are played in the "as it is played" window which is in between playing a card and drawing its replacement.


Correct. The wake card and the cancellation card can themselves be cancelled, so they should be replaced after their own "as played" window.

A plays card C
B plays a wake as "C is played"
noone cancels it => B replaces the wake
B plays a cancellation card as "C is played" to cancel C
noone cancels it => B replaces the cancellation card
Card C is cancelled. A replaces C.


Moot. See my first answer.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 01 Oct 2021 08:04 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor, Hobbesgoblin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 15:43 #103389 by Timo
Replied by Timo on topic Direct Intervention
Well, in this post :

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/VLkjUiEArsE/m/1zd5gx_8xI0J

FzD (who was not RD at this point if I am correct) seems to state the timing of replacing a card differently.

You couldn't play a Botched Move you replaced on a Sudden'd DI to cancel a combat card

.

And the rulebook state "drawing to replace cards comes after this time period"

So why would the canceling card would be replaced while the cancelled card is not ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Sep 2021 16:15 - 01 Oct 2021 08:05 #103391 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Direct Intervention
EDIT: See first answer.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 01 Oct 2021 08:05 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2021 07:11 #103393 by Bloodartist
Replied by Bloodartist on topic Direct Intervention


And the rulebook state "drawing to replace cards comes after this time period"

So why would the canceling card would be replaced while the cancelled card is not ?


There is not just one window where all of the canceling cards are played, each card has their own "as played" window. And their replacements are drawn if they are not canceled in that window.

Ironically this reminds me an awful lot of Magic the gatherings "stack" and "responding", since things resolve in opposite order than they are played. Why not just use that...

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2021 07:42 - 30 Sep 2021 08:33 #103394 by Timo
Replied by Timo on topic Direct Intervention
OK, now, I don't see anymore why the "as played" window specify that it occurs "before drawing to replace".

I thought it was to avoid "stack-like" problematics. And afterward, the "wake" ruling was done to allow the reaction cancelling effects to be used even if locked.

Because the cancelling card has not been cancelled.


But when you play a wake, the first card as not been cancelled yet neither. And potentially never would.

With this *new* ruling above, A plays a card, B plays a bunch of wake cards hoping for some cancelling effects (or just for cycling and open options) replacing everyone of them and then doesn't cancel it and just now A is allowed to replace his card ?

For example, A plays a conditioning, B already has a Direct Intervention in hand. He decides to play a wake in the as played window and if he replaces a bounce he doesn't cancel the card and if not he just plays the DI.

This seems pretty counter intuitive (and for no good reasons that I see right now...)
Last edit: 30 Sep 2021 08:33 by Timo.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.106 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum