file Is Lobotomy really bad?

12 Jan 2011 17:36 #479 by Joscha
What do you think of this card:

Lobotomy, Action Modifier, Vicissitude
Only usable when recruiting an ally.
[vic] If the action is successful, put this card on the ally and tap the ally. Actions that require Dominate or Presence do not affect this ally. This ally has -1 bleed and cannot use maneuvers.
[VIC] As above, but the ally is not tapped.

With that many Entrancements and Far Masteries around that card strikes me as useful (if not very useful). There are some midcap Tzimisce with VIC available, so that the disadvantages of the card are not that evil. I play Trap in those decks anyway instead of Fake Out and War Ghouls have a default bleed of 0. So why not adding 6 Lobotomies to a 60-card-Warghoulator? Am I missing some clues :o)?

Baron of Frankfurt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2011 17:49 #481 by Dorrinal
Disclaimer: I have no experience playing a War Ghoul deck.

Adding Lobotomy to Speed Ghoul changes the card ratios and could slow down the deck. You really want to see Jake Washington and War Ghoul as soon as possible. Hopefully if the deck is running well you can smash anyone with DOM or PRE before they become a threat.

Therefore, adding Lobotomy is a calculated risk that should only be taken when Far Mastery and Entrancement are common in your metagame. Even so, I am certain that 6 is far too many for a 60-card speed ghoul deck.

:trem:

More
12 Jan 2011 20:23 #483 by Juggernaut1981
Would I bother playing Lobotomy?
Not really, even in a Warghoul deck there is still a major opportunity issue with having the Warghoul & Lobotomy in hand.

I'm more in the camp of beating the living crap out of anybody who attempts to steal a Warghoul (probably going to be your Predator or a Quick-Ousting Crosstable).

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418

More
12 Jan 2011 20:40 #484 by bakija
Replied by bakija on topic Re: Is Lobotomy really bad?