file V:TES Rulebook update question

18 Oct 2017 23:03 #83922 by narpassword

This is correct as it stands.
The cost IS paid, except when explicit card text states that the cost is NOT paid.

Correct, since 1994.


Well I guess so, since every card that I can think of offhand explicitly states that the cost is not paid... Example: sudden reversal, wash, bleeding the vine, direct intervention, evil eye....

Makes me wonder whats the point of this rule if its almost never in effect? I always just assumed that the card texts were merely reminding of the rule of no cost paid. Especially since the "no cost is paid" text is in brackets.

edit: Ok, I am legion doesn't mention that cost would not be paid..


Evil eye at basic refunds the combat cart cost, but at Superior cost is paid for the action card iirc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Oct 2017 10:59 #83935 by Lönkka

Visually the rulebook looks great!
Under naming templates:

“Cancel a card”: A “cancelled” card has no effect, but it is still considered played. Unless explicitly written, cost for the card is paid.


Wait what? Shouldn't this be cost is NOT paid?


You probably are confusing his with intercepted, unsuccessful, actions.
You do not pay the cost for unsuccessful actions.

NC, Finland
Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
24 Oct 2017 14:36 - 24 Oct 2017 14:46 #83997 by ReverendRevolver

Visually the rulebook looks great!
Under naming templates:

“Cancel a card”: A “cancelled” card has no effect, but it is still considered played. Unless explicitly written, cost for the card is paid.


Wait what? Shouldn't this be cost is NOT paid?


You probably are confusing his with intercepted, unsuccessful, actions.
You do not pay the cost for unsuccessful actions.


If I Archon Investigation Arika does she still pay for conditioning and govern?

Rules say only conditioning, but Arika needs more balancing.....

:silly:

On canceling, afair it states if you still pay on anything other than actions (botched move burns the extras, cancels the card, you pay for the card, and take damage) but evil eye @basic doesn't make you pay for the card, and @superior, other action canceling reactions and modifiers typically have (reminder text) saying no cost is paid. Typically there's also a restriction on playing that card too.
Last edit: 24 Oct 2017 14:46 by ReverendRevolver.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.122 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum