lightbulb "The Rulebook is always improving" for Rulebook 1.1

20 Apr 2024 14:50 #111224 by self biased

Retainers and Combat

A retainer is not normally harmed in combat, unless the minion employing it is burned. However, an attacker can choose to target one of the opposing minion’s retainers with a strike rather than striking at the opposing minion. This can only be done at long range. To target a retainer with a ranged strike, the striking minion must announce their intended target when the strike is announced.


Why is this worded in such a way that it makes a rule, and then carves an exception to that rule? Why does this mention an attacker? Does that mean only the acting minion can strike at retainers? I know that's not the case, but it's a question i can easily see someone having. This text can be shortened and clarified:

Retainers and Combat

A minion can target an opposing retainer only at long range, with a Ranged Strike. The minion must announce they are targeting the retainer instead of their employer when the strike is announced. Retainers cannot be targeted with strikes at close range unless card text states otherwise.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Apr 2024 07:20 #111228 by KoRneeshon
Much clearer. Even the ending "unless card text states otherwise" can be skipped, as it applies to (almost?) all rules.
The following user(s) said Thank You: self biased

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Time to create page: 0.059 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum