file Re: Descent into Darkness

18 Jan 2012 12:42 #21056 by technobabble66
My understanding is (assuming u had enough orun & aye in your library):
you could put a Master:discipline card on Iniko (now a 10-cap), DiD & descend, ascend & play Static Virtue (move 3 O's & 3 A's onto Iniko).
Next round, repeat the DiD & descend, ascend & play another Static Virtue (move another 3 O's & 3 A's onto Iniko). The 10-cap now has 12 O' &A's so 2 burn, but you can choose to burn 2 of the A's (now 6 O's & 4 A's).
Next round, repeat it all again & result in selecting another 3 A's to burn. So by the 4th round Iniko should have 9 O's & 1 A.

Admittedly you could've just played 2 Orun per round, so by the start of the same 4th round, Iniko would have 6 Oruns.
Probably much simpler for a similar effect, really ;)

And yeah, this whole effort is only worthwhile if you're using Brutal Influence extensively at superior...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2012 22:45 #21112 by jamesatzephyr

My understanding is (assuming u had enough orun & aye in your library):
you could put a Master:discipline card on Iniko (now a 10-cap), DiD & descend, ascend & play Static Virtue (move 3 O's & 3 A's onto Iniko).
Next round, repeat the DiD & descend, ascend & play another Static Virtue (move another 3 O's & 3 A's onto Iniko). The 10-cap now has 12 O' &A's so 2 burn, but you can choose to burn 2 of the A's (now 6 O's & 4 A's).
Next round, repeat it all again & result in selecting another 3 A's to burn. So by the 4th round Iniko should have 9 O's & 1 A.


That requires you to have nine Aye in your library or hand. If you draw any early, you either have to keep them in your hand, or discard them. Static Virtue won't fetch Ayes from the ash heap (only hand or library). So you may either end up having to keep Aye in your hand when you don't want to, or having to include more than 9 in your deck. 10% of a deck is a LOT, and that percentage only gets higher if you play more Aye or a smaller deck.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2012 06:14 #21168 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Descent into Darkness

So you may either end up having to keep Aye in your hand when you don't want to, or having to include more than 9 in your deck. 10% of a deck is a LOT, and that percentage only gets higher if you play more Aye or a smaller deck.

I don't know if it's a bad thing, since it will expurgate your deck from unwanted cards, though reducing it to a smaller deck (like a twister deck).
Eg. you can play a 75 cards deck that is really a 40-cards deck.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Apr 2023 15:46 #107862 by thelonius reloaded
How does Descent into Darkness interact with Perfectionist?

Perfectionist
Archetype.
Put this card on a vampire you control. Once each turn, this vampire can gain 1 blood after performing a successful action during which no reaction cards are played. A vampire can have only one archetype.



Lurking in the underground of Bologna, Italy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Apr 2023 06:38 #107867 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic Re: Descent into Darkness

How does Descent into Darkness interact with Perfectionist?

Perfectionist
Archetype.
Put this card on a vampire you control. Once each turn, this vampire can gain 1 blood after performing a successful action during which no reaction cards are played. A vampire can have only one archetype.


The vampire is out of play after the resolution, therefore you cannot use Perfectionist.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Apr 2023 09:18 #107868 by Bloodartist

The vampire is out of play after the resolution, therefore you cannot use Perfectionist.


Or actually, isn't this more about perfectionist being out of play and thus not triggering upon action resolution?

Vampire that is out of play can gain blood as evidenced by descent into darkness itself. Therefore merely being out of play doesn't make it incapable of receiving blood?

Name: Descent into Darkness
[Gehenna:C, POD:DTC]
Cardtype: Action
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Obtenebration
+1 stealth action.
[obt] Put this vampire and any cards and counters on them out of play (breaking any temporary control effects) and put this card in play. During your influence phase, this vampire can gain 2 blood and you can choose to burn this card to return the vampire to play (in the same region as they were before), locked.
[OBT] As above, but the vampire is unlocked as they return to play.
Artist: David Day

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.068 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum