file Can Eagle sight be use after playing black sunrise?

26 Nov 2020 02:02 #101153 by lordofventrue
Can Eagle's Sight be used after playing Black Sunrise?

Name: Black Sunrise
[KMW:C, LotN:PA3, POD:DTC]
Cardtype: Reaction
Discipline: Quietus
Only usable by a locked vampire.
[qui] Only usable during a (D) action against you (or a card you control). This vampire unlocks and attempts to block.
[QUI] As above, but usable during any action.
Artist: Beth Trott


Name: Eagle's Sight
[Jyhad:U, VTES:U, CE:U, BH:PM3, LoB:PO2, Third:PTz2, KoT:U/PT3, SP:PwN2]
Cardtype: Reaction
Discipline: Auspex
[aus] +1 intercept.
[AUS] This vampire attempts to block the current action, ignoring the normal prey, predator or target restrictions for blocking actions.
Artist: Larry MacDougall; Chris Stevens

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2020 06:53 #101154 by Yomyael
In principle, yes.

But: you cannot play Black Sunrise if the vampire is not allowed to block the current action (e.g. because it is directed at someone else), because Black Sunrise would force the vampire to do something that isn't allowed.

Prince of Bonn, Germany
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ankha

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2020 08:17 - 26 Nov 2020 08:19 #101155 by Ankha
Yomyael is correct.
So if your vampire is locked and you want to block an action you could not normally block (for instance, your prey is rescuing a vampire from your predator in torpor), you cannot play Black Sunrise in the first place.

But if your predator were bleeding you, you could play Black Sunrise to attempt to block, and play Eagle Sight at superior to allow you to block (redundantly, but to cycle a card).

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 26 Nov 2020 08:19 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2020 14:19 #101156 by lordofventrue
What about the Superior, which says any action?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2020 14:39 #101157 by Yomyael
The "any action" part of Black Sunrise is a bit misleading. It is intended to only override the "d action" part, not general restricitions, c.f. www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/76748-black-sunrise#88361

And because Black Sunrise would force you to block, you cannot play it if you are not allowed to block.

Prince of Bonn, Germany

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Nov 2020 15:13 #101158 by inm8
To be clear....the thing that prevents the Black Sunrise (beside the intended design) from being able to be used even if played at superior is the fact that it lacks the explicit text allowing you to overrule the base rule of what you are allowed to react to/block which is there in the Eagle´s Sight...the any action as mentioned only expands the inferior option without overruling the valid targets set by the base rules.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.124 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum