file new player, few questions

11 Feb 2021 18:35 #101593 by Shukran
hello, quite new player here.

i am learning with a group of friends the game.

i ve met certain situations im not "fine" with, so i need some clarifications:
1)
player A bleed
player B try to block
player A stealth
player B uses another vampire (one that was not used to try to block) to bounce the bleed.

is it correct?

2)
player A bleed
player B lock sphynx to draw to cards and decide how to react

3)
player B uses enkil cow window tapping sphynx , then doing the action with the vampire.

4)combat situation: reacting matusalah can decide to strike after acting one choose his strike (not wasting strikes against combat ends) but both strike, then , act at the same time. is it correct?

thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Feb 2021 21:38 #101595 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic new player, few questions

Shukran wrote: hello, quite new player here.

i am learning with a group of friends the game.

i ve met certain situations im not "fine" with, so i need some clarifications:

Hi, and welcome !

Shukran wrote: 1)
player A bleed
player B try to block
player A stealth
player B uses another vampire (one that was not used to try to block) to bounce the bleed.

B can bounce the bleed with the same vampire.
The exact (simplified) sequence is:
Minion A bleeds.
Minion B tries to block.
Minion A adds stealth
Player B decides not to block with any minion.
Minion A can play an action modifier to increase the bleed or not.
Minion B (or another minion controlled by B) can play a bounce "after blocks are declined".

Name: Deflection
Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Dominate
Only usable if a minion is bleeding you, after blocks are declined.
[dom] Lock this reacting vampire. Change the target of the bleed to another Methuselah other than the acting minion's controller (that Methuselah can attempt to block).
[DOM] As above, but do not lock this vampire.

Shukran wrote: 2)
player A bleed
player B lock sphynx to draw to cards and decide how to react

Correct. After A declares a bleed, and passes the impulse to the defending Methuselah (B), B can use the impulse to draw 2 cards with the Dreams.
Then the impulse goes back to A who can play effects. Let's say A has no effect to use right now, B then gets the impulse back to perform block attempts.

Shukran wrote: 3)
player B uses enkil cow window tapping sphynx , then doing the action with the vampire.

It works once again with the impulse. Let's say B wants to act during A's turn. Once A has no more actions to perform with his/her minions, A gives the impulse to B who can use the Dreams to draw 2 cards. Then the impulse goes back to A. A can pass once again and B has the impulse to use the Enkil Cog.

See sequencing www.vekn.net/rulebook/2-card-types#sequencing

Shukran wrote: 4)combat situation: reacting matusalah can decide to strike after acting one choose his strike (not wasting strikes against combat ends) but both strike, then , act at the same time. is it correct?

Correct. A (acting) chooses his/her strike first, then B (reacting/defending) chooses his/her strike.
Then both strikes resolve simulteanously.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2021 00:51 - 12 Feb 2021 00:56 #101597 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic new player, few questions

Ankha wrote:

Shukran wrote: 3)
player B uses enkil cow window tapping sphynx , then doing the action with the vampire.

It works once again with the impulse. Let's say B wants to act during A's turn. Once A has no more actions to perform with his/her minions, A gives the impulse to B who can use the Dreams to draw 2 cards. Then the impulse goes back to A. A can pass once again and B has the impulse to use the Enkil Cog.

See sequencing www.vekn.net/rulebook/2-card-types#sequencing


Doesn’t Enkil Cog interrupt player A’s minion phase temporarily making player B the acting Methuselah?
If it does, doesn’t that mean that If player B locks Enkil Cog and before announcing the action with the vampire who has the Enkil Cog locks the Dreams of the Sphinx to get +2 hand size doesn’t pass the impulse to player A? I would have thought the impulse only passes to player A after the announcing of the action that the vampire with the triggered Enkil Cog will take and no more effects are wished to be played by player B as per the sequencing rule.

Enkil Cog
Last edit: 12 Feb 2021 00:56 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2021 05:27 #101598 by Shukran
Replied by Shukran on topic new player, few questions
Thanks a lot.

I don't get , then, what " declining" really means. I thought that attempting to block would negate the decline.

For the rest examples i learnt a lot.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2021 08:03 - 12 Feb 2021 08:19 #101599 by Tadori
Replied by Tadori on topic new player, few questions
unfortunately because there is no clear flowchart in the rulebook whole sequence of blocking can be confusing for new players. I will try to explain it.

1 There is an action announced be player A

Now player B can play reaction cards that will allow him to block.

2. Then there is an intent to block by player B. In this step he can also resign from any attempt to block. (then you go to point 4)

Player A and B can play minion card to resolve success of the block

3. Now you check if the Block was successful or not. In this step if block is successful players can play cards "before block resolution" like Change of target(go to point 5) and if block failed Player B declares if he will make another attempt to block with other minion or resign from any attempt to block.(go to point 4)

4. If Player B failed to block and resign from any attempt to block with other minions he can play cards "after blocks are declined" (for example deflection if its a bleed action). Block attempt has resolved. Action of Player A is successful (if not bouned).

5 If Player B blocks. Block attemp has resolved. Action failed and Combat begins.
Last edit: 12 Feb 2021 08:19 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Feb 2021 08:29 - 12 Feb 2021 08:31 #101600 by Tadori
Replied by Tadori on topic new player, few questions

inm8 wrote:

Ankha wrote:

Shukran wrote: 3)
player B uses enkil cow window tapping sphynx , then doing the action with the vampire.

It works once again with the impulse. Let's say B wants to act during A's turn. Once A has no more actions to perform with his/her minions, A gives the impulse to B who can use the Dreams to draw 2 cards. Then the impulse goes back to A. A can pass once again and B has the impulse to use the Enkil Cog.

See sequencing www.vekn.net/rulebook/2-card-types#sequencing


Doesn’t Enkil Cog interrupt player A’s minion phase temporarily making player B the acting Methuselah?
If it does, doesn’t that mean that If player B locks Enkil Cog and before announcing the action with the vampire who has the Enkil Cog locks the Dreams of the Sphinx to get +2 hand size doesn’t pass the impulse to player A? I would have thought the impulse only passes to player A after the announcing of the action that the vampire with the triggered Enkil Cog will take and no more effects are wished to be played by player B as per the sequencing rule.

Enkil Cog


Enkil Cog doesn't make Player B an active Methuselah it allows a minion to act in active Methuselah (Player A) round.

Sorry for the double post
Last edit: 12 Feb 2021 08:31 by Tadori.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.111 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum