file new player, few questions

13 Feb 2021 21:17 - 13 Feb 2021 21:22 #101615 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic new player, few questions

inm8 wrote: Thanks Ankha for clarifying that the the methuselah that is currently having a minion attempting an action is considered the "acting Methuselah".

Sorry for nitpicking .... few more questions:

1) When player B triggers Enkil Cog does that make him the "acting Methuselah" immediately?

If B has the impulse and uses the Enkil Cog to perform an action, B becomes de facto the acting Methuselah since B is announcing an action (cf. Enkil Cog).

inm8 wrote: 2) Can player B trigger the use of Dreams of the Sphinx before attempting an action in the Enkil Cog time window?

If A passes the impulse to B, B can use it to use the Dreams of Sphinx. Then the impulse goes back to A. If A passes again, B can use the Enkil Cog, or another effect, or pass.

inm8 wrote: 3) If no on 1) and yes on 2) above does player A get the impulse back if player B uses the Dreams of the Sphinx before player B can have his minion take an action?

See previous answer.

inm8 wrote: 4) If player A gets the impulse on 3) is the Enkil Cog action lost or when does player B get the chance to attempt it?

B cannot simulteanously use the Dreams of the Sphinx and the Enkil Cog, so the question is moot.

The only thing that could interrupt the Enkil Cog effect would be a Direct Intervention or similar card played to cancel B's action card as it is played. In that case, B can play another action card, or announce a cardless action, or let the effect fizzle.

groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/MNmJu12AU8I/m/Pol1P9fWMmoJ

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 13 Feb 2021 21:22 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Feb 2021 22:59 #101617 by inm8
Replied by inm8 on topic new player, few questions
Am i understanding it right that by locking Enkil Cog the "attempting an action" is initiated making player B the acting methuselah and that it means that there isn't a time window between locking Enkil Cog and attempting an action and for that reason one can´t use the Dreams of the Sphinx to get +2 hand size to increase the options of what action to attempt ie. the only thing that can happen after locking Enkil Cog is the announcing of the action?

Dreams of the Sphinx can be used for +2 hand size after the announcing of the action as usual by player B (for more for ex action modifiers) which is done while being the acting methuselah and thereby not passing the impulse to player A until saying that he does so?

Thanks for your patience with my questions

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Feb 2021 10:47 - 14 Feb 2021 10:49 #101619 by Ankha
Replied by Ankha on topic new player, few questions

inm8 wrote: Am i understanding it right that by locking Enkil Cog the "attempting an action" is initiated making player B the acting methuselah and that it means that there isn't a time window between locking Enkil Cog and attempting an action and for that reason one can´t use the Dreams of the Sphinx to get +2 hand size to increase the options of what action to attempt ie. the only thing that can happen after locking Enkil Cog is the announcing of the action?

Locking Enkil Cog to use it and announcing the action are parts of the same effect. You cannot do something in between.

As an analogy: you cannot lock Dreams to draw 2 cards and do something else before drawing the 2 cards.

inm8 wrote: Dreams of the Sphinx can be used for +2 hand size after the announcing of the action as usual by player B (for more for ex action modifiers) which is done while being the acting methuselah and thereby not passing the impulse to player A until saying that he does so?

Correct.
B uses the Enkil Cog to announce an action. Now B is the acting Methuselah and can use the Dreams before playing other effects or passing the impulse to the defending Methuselah.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 14 Feb 2021 10:49 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.094 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum