lightbulb Rulebook: Potentially misleading and oddly placed passages

05 May 2022 14:08 - 05 May 2022 14:15 #105179 by inm8
Under the "Playing a card" section update the below

Playing a Card

A card is played by announcing its effects, showing the card and placing it from the hand in the ash heap. Sometimes a card will state to put it into play, you should announce its effects and place the card in the play area.


to

Playing a Card

A card is played by announcing its effects, showing the card and placing it from the hand in the ash heap. Sometimes a card will state to put it into play, you should announce its effects and place the card in the play area. Playing cards that are multi-type and/or multi-discipline leveled (of one or multiple disciplines) are only considered to be played as the type and as requiring only the disciplines corresponding to the relevant effect unless card text says otherwise.

Last edit: 05 May 2022 14:15 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 May 2022 14:30 - 18 May 2022 05:02 #105180 by inm8
Under the "Card Types" section update the below

Minion Cards: Minion cards are played by the minions (vampires and allies) the Methuselah controls.


to

Minion Cards: Minion cards are played by both the minions (vampires and allies) and by the Methuselah who controls them. Minion cards in the library, ash heap, and in your hand that are multi-type and/or that require more than one discipline are considered to be cards that are all those types and that require each of those disciplines.


Alternative

Minion Cards: Minion cards are played by both the minions (vampires and allies) and by the Methuselah who controls them. Minion cards in the library, ash heap, and in your hand are considered to be of all the types and require each of the disciplines listed.

Last edit: 18 May 2022 05:02 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 May 2022 20:49 #105272 by inm8

Under the "Playing a card" section


Added "Cards are played at a single level for its relevant effects if it doesn´t explicitly allows more than one level and/or discipline to be used." at the end of the suggested text.

Playing a Card

A card is played by announcing its effects, showing the card and placing it from the hand in the ash heap. Sometimes a card will state to put it into play, you should announce its effects and place the card in the play area. Playing cards that are multi-type and/or multi-discipline leveled (of one or multiple disciplines) are only considered to be played as the type and as requiring only the disciplines corresponding to the relevant effect unless card text says otherwise. Cards are played at a single level for its relevant effects if it doesn´t explicitly allows more than one level and/or discipline to be used.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 May 2022 03:13 #105335 by self biased
so, this is slightly off topic, but I remember mentioning it a while ago on facebook, but apparently I never made a post about it here. I'd like to see this passage on page 30 of the rulebook changed from this:

◼ Resolve Strike: The effects of the strikes from both minions are resolved simultaneously. Most strikes are effective only at close range, unless the strike is identified as ranged, does “R” damage, or is a defensive strike such as dodge or combat ends. Ranged strikes and strikes that do “R” damage can be used at any range, close or long.


to this:

◼ Resolve Strike: The effects of the strikes from both minions are resolved simultaneously. Most strikes are effective only at close range, unless the strike is identified as ranged. Ranged strikes can be used at any range, close or long.


and make Dodges and Combat ends strikes Ranged, as well as anything that strikes for R damage. Effects from retainers and other similar things don't really need to have a designation, because they already state "if the range is close/long."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 May 2022 16:04 #105341 by Kilrauko

so, this is slightly off topic, but I remember mentioning it a while ago on facebook, but apparently I never made a post about it here. I'd like to see this passage on page 30 of the rulebook changed from this:

◼ Resolve Strike: The effects of the strikes from both minions are resolved simultaneously. Most strikes are effective only at close range, unless the strike is identified as ranged, does “R” damage, or is a defensive strike such as dodge or combat ends. Ranged strikes and strikes that do “R” damage can be used at any range, close or long.


to this:

◼ Resolve Strike: The effects of the strikes from both minions are resolved simultaneously. Most strikes are effective only at close range, unless the strike is identified as ranged. Ranged strikes can be used at any range, close or long.


and make Dodges and Combat ends strikes Ranged, as well as anything that strikes for R damage. Effects from retainers and other similar things don't really need to have a designation, because they already state "if the range is close/long."


I'll lodge my opposition to the part of Dodge/combat ends to become ranged strikes as it will affect number of +1 damage to ranged strike damage vampires and most glaringly will turn this card to anti combat ends/dodge which was not it's nor dodge's/combat ends design choice.
Name: Shadowed Eyes
[HttB:R, POD:DTC]
Cardtype: Action
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Auspex & Obtenebration
+1 stealth action.
[aus][obt] (D) Put this card on an ally or younger vampire. The attached minion gets -2 intercept and cannot perform directed actions or use ranged strikes. Any minion can burn this card as a +1 stealth action.
[AUS][OBT] As above, and the action to burn this card costs 1 additional blood or life.
Artist: Juan Calle

Now if the card text for +1 damage ranged strikes Vampires and Shadowed Eyes is changed to include strikes but *not* include combat ends and dodges, it will be kosher in my eyes provided there's not some other interaction I'm forgetting.

Trust in Jan Pieterzoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 May 2022 17:52 #105354 by kschaefer
This could be solved by reminder text instead:
Strike: Combat Ends. (Usable at any range.)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kilrauko

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.133 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum