file Thoughts Betrayed and Hunger of Marduk

27 Sep 2021 21:06 #103351 by Lech
a) you can play inferior charismatic aura

You can cancel charismatic aura with hide the mind. You can't cancel OBE Anesthetic Touch.

:laso: :CEL: :DOM: :OBT: :POT: :cap8:
Sabbat.Black Hand Shakar: Lech loathe ranged weapons. Once each action, he may burn 1 blood to become Camarilla Prince of Krakow until the end of the action.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2021 06:38 - 28 Sep 2021 06:39 #103360 by inm8

a) you can play inferior charismatic aura

I agree and is how I interpret it as well, basically saying that cards are defined when played/used by the effect they are played/used for at the moment of playing/using the cards.

You can cancel charismatic aura with hide the mind. You can't cancel OBE Anesthetic Touch.

This is as well aligned with my interpretation of how it is to be handled, it is clear i think that when Anesthetic Touch is played at  or   it doesn´t fit with "requires Auspex   as it is played"

Still would like to get an official ruling/stand. 
Last edit: 28 Sep 2021 06:39 by inm8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2021 08:04 - 28 Sep 2021 08:29 #103364 by Ankha

Ankha can you please provide an official clarification/stand on the below, thanks.

1) Hunger of Marduk is a pre-range card played for the effect that provides the vampire with a temporary ability in the current round that enables it to "strike, ranged: steal 1/2 blood" as an inherent ability just like the ability to make a hand strike....thus it is not a strike card. Correct?

Strike cards are combat cards that use the "Strike: X", "Cost to strike: X" pattern (not "This vampire can strike: X"), and that are played in the Choose strike step, or Determine Range step if they provide an optional maneuver.

For instance, Majesty ("Strike: combat ends") and Flames of the Netherworld ("Burn 1 blood to strike: 1R aggravated damage.") are strike cards.
Aid from Bats is also a strike cards ("Strike: 1R damage, with 1 optional maneuver").

.44 Magnum or Hunger of Marduk are not strike cards.

2) Strike cards are the cards that provide a strike effect and are worded "Strike: ....". Correct?

Correct.

3) Which cards does "cannot play any strike cards" actually cover? Is it:
a) only strike cards (as per the above mentioned definition) played for/at the discipline level that provides the strike effect. Meaning that cards like Charismatic Aura can be played at inferior and cards like Diversion can be played at :cel: and/or :for:

Sure. Those cards do not provide a strike when used with those Disciplines.

b) any card having the ability to provide a strike effect as a strike card (as per the above mentioned definition) regardless of what effect it is played for. Meaning that cards like Charismatic Aura  and Diversion cannot be played at all.

No.

4) Would an alternative wording of the card text of Thoughts Betrayed be clearer ex. "Opposing minion cannot play cards for strike effects during this combat" ?

It does not seem clearer to me.

Further expanding on the questions of the definition of which cards are covered....

5) The card text "discard a card requiring Auspex" is covered by cards that have at least one effect that requires at least Auspex :aus: and is not limited to cards with an effect which only require auspex. Meaning Charismatic Aura can be discarded to get the +2 votes. Correct?

Correct. You have to take into account all the Disciplines listed in the left marble bar for cards in hand.

6) The card text "cancel a combat card that requires Auspex :aus: as it is played" is playable against cards that are played for an effect that at least requires auspex and is not limited to cards that are played for an effect which only requires auspex. Meaning it could be used to cancel Charismatic Aura as it is played. Correct?

Since the requirement to play the card included Auspex, it's enough to satisfy the condition.

PS: you can use the :aus: shortcut to display Discipline icons.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 28 Sep 2021 08:29 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2021 05:07 #103983 by steveharris
Just a quick question regarding Hunger of Marduk. Is the strike it grants only usable once per round, ie, does this fall under "during X do y" ruling?

Steve Harris
NC, Australia
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2021 08:01 #103985 by Ankha

Just a quick question regarding Hunger of Marduk. Is the strike it grants only usable once per round, ie, does this fall under "during X do y" ruling?

Steve Harris
NC, Australia

Why would it fall under the "during x do y" rule if this pattern is not used?

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
The following user(s) said Thank You: steveharris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.268 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum