lightbulb Rulebook: Potentially misleading and oddly placed passages

05 Jan 2024 10:31 - 05 Jan 2024 10:32 #110272 by Coyote
Source: www.vekn.net/detailed-play-summary

At
I(HOW TO PERFORM ACTIONS).C.2.a
and
I(HOW TO PERFORM ACTIONS).C.2.b

There is no reference in the webpage about being able to raise Stealth or intercept when not needed from other sources, rather than action modifiers or reactions. Reading RAW you could raise sheath and intercept using other sources even if you don't needed it

  1. Blocking minion can play a reaction card to increase intercept only if the acting minion has stealth greater than the blocking minion's intercept.
  2. Acting minion can play an action modifier card to increase stealth only if the blocking minion has at least as much intercept as the acting minion's stealth.

Maybe change for

  1. Blocking minion can increase intercept using sources like reactions cards or abilities only if the acting minion has stealth greater than the blocking minion's intercept. If a source would increase intercept when not needed, the increase is lost
  2. Acting minion can increase stealth using sources like action modifier cards or abilities only if the blocking minion has at least as much intercept as the acting minion's stealth.If a source would increase stealth when not needed, the increase is lost
Last edit: 05 Jan 2024 10:32 by Coyote.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jan 2024 23:30 #110379 by self biased
someone more knowledgeable than I am should feel free to correct me, but I was under the impression that the detailed play summary has been out of date for quite some time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Jan 2024 08:15 #110492 by Coyote
In that case, it should be corrected (or at least hidden until corrected)

This could lead to misunderstanding about rules.
Actually, it did in my community.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lönkka

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Feb 2024 19:11 #110686 by self biased

Well before the current rulebook was published I told BCP that I've done nitpicky rulebook proofreading quite a few times and would be glad to help with VTES rulebook.

Unfortunately they didn't send it to me to be proofread. I'm pretty sure I would've caught at least some of the problematic spots and generally it would've been improved.

My CURRENT suggestion is that WELL BEFORE the release of the NEXT version of the rulebook BCP post the rulebook online and unleash us, the 1000 vampiric monkeys with keyboards, on it.

I'm pretty confident that this way more or less no typos or omissions will make it to the final product.

(The other way to do it is have a small and exclusive group do the same and then release it. AFTER which it'll be scrutinized by the same said 1000 vampiric monkeys with keyboards and some of those monkeys WILL find problematic spots. So why not do it BEFORE the publication...?)


Also pondering:
Does it need to be printed at all? Finetuning / updating just online rulebook would be so much easier...


hey Ankha, is there any way Lönkka, inm8, Lionel, Hobbesgoblin, and myself can get an advanced look at the new rulebook? I can easily set up an area in the Discord server for this purpose.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lönkka, inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Feb 2024 17:01 #110699 by Damnans

hey Ankha, is there any way Lönkka, inm8, Lionel, Hobbesgoblin, and myself can get an advanced look at the new rulebook? I can easily set up an area in the Discord server for this purpose.


The new rulebook has already been printed.

:vtes: V:EKN Website Coordinator

:baal: :AUS: :DAI: :FOR: :OBF: :PRE: :MAL: :STR: :flight: :cap11:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Feb 2024 12:13 #110771 by mipopo3
Hi, got a question.
Oskar Anasov:
During an action, Oskar can burn 1 blood to give a vampire you control +1 intercept.
vs
Maris Streck
Maris can burn a blood to give a blocking minion +1 intercept.

Oskar is limited to doing it once per action?
While Marisa is not limited?

Is there a ruling on this distinction that I can use?

:gang::ANI::FOR::PRO::cap8:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Time to create page: 0.088 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum