eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
20 Sep 2021 22:21 #103211
by gotcha
eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare was created by gotcha
vamp A acts, vampire B plays eyes of argus and intercept card, declaring attempt to block.
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
To me this is obvious but Miller failed to see my point. Can someone explain this game technical - impulse -wise to us?
Thanks
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
To me this is obvious but Miller failed to see my point. Can someone explain this game technical - impulse -wise to us?
Thanks
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
21 Sep 2021 07:46 - 21 Sep 2021 07:49 #103216
by Bloodartist
I believe the answer is no.. Basically in any specific timing window in the game, the acting player plays their cards; then defending player gets to play their cards; then the other players get to play their cards in clockwise order. The cycle restarts only if acting player plays a card.
So because player A didn't play cards and instead declared that they were blocked, I believe defending player doesn't get to play any more cards in that timing window, and instead you move to resolving blocks.
Eluding has to be played prior to a successful block, because it forces you to attempt to block. In this game you cannot attempt something you are unable to do. You can play eluding only if a blocking opportunity exists.
I struggle to find a good explanation to this from the BCP rulebook however... its handling of timing windows is haphazard at best.
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Replied by Bloodartist on topic eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
vamp A acts, vampire B plays eyes of argus and intercept card, declaring attempt to block.
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
To me this is obvious but Miller failed to see my point. Can someone explain this game technical - impulse -wise to us?
Thanks
I believe the answer is no.. Basically in any specific timing window in the game, the acting player plays their cards; then defending player gets to play their cards; then the other players get to play their cards in clockwise order. The cycle restarts only if acting player plays a card.
So because player A didn't play cards and instead declared that they were blocked, I believe defending player doesn't get to play any more cards in that timing window, and instead you move to resolving blocks.
Eluding has to be played prior to a successful block, because it forces you to attempt to block. In this game you cannot attempt something you are unable to do. You can play eluding only if a blocking opportunity exists.
I struggle to find a good explanation to this from the BCP rulebook however... its handling of timing windows is haphazard at best.
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Last edit: 21 Sep 2021 07:49 by Bloodartist.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 979
- Thank you received: 170
21 Sep 2021 08:03 #103218
by gotcha
Replied by gotcha on topic eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
Exactly how I thought of it ... thanks - )
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
21 Sep 2021 08:54 #103221
by Legion
- Player B plays eyes of argus and intercept card and pass the impulse to A.
- Player A pass.
as both players passed the action moves to the next step. Action is blocked. Action resolves unsuccessfully -> resolve the block.
There is no window to play eluding the arms of morpheus.
Replied by Legion on topic eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
Player A play all cards he wants and pass the impulse to player B.vamp A acts, vampire B plays eyes of argus and intercept card, declaring attempt to block.
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
To me this is obvious but Miller failed to see my point. Can someone explain this game technical - impulse -wise to us?
- Player B plays eyes of argus and intercept card and pass the impulse to A.
- Player A pass.
as both players passed the action moves to the next step. Action is blocked. Action resolves unsuccessfully -> resolve the block.
There is no window to play eluding the arms of morpheus.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
21 Sep 2021 10:37 #103231
by Ankha
So after A has declined to play more cards, B has the impulse and can play Eluding the Arms of Morpheus with the blocking vampire. The impulse then goes back to A.
See also the other topic www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/76321-can-a-vampire-use-multiple-attempt-to-block-effects?start=24#103230
Replied by Ankha on topic eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
No. The block resolves once all players have passed the impulse (including A and B). After all, C could lock a Monastery of Shadows to give A more stealth. Or D could play a Draba.
vamp A acts, vampire B plays eyes of argus and intercept card, declaring attempt to block.
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
I believe the answer is no..
So because player A didn't play cards and instead declared that they were blocked, I believe defending player doesn't get to play any more cards in that timing window, and instead you move to resolving blocks.
So after A has declined to play more cards, B has the impulse and can play Eluding the Arms of Morpheus with the blocking vampire. The impulse then goes back to A.
A minion who is attempting to block can attempt to block "more".Eluding has to be played prior to a successful block, because it forces you to attempt to block. In this game you cannot attempt something you are unable to do. You can play eluding only if a blocking opportunity exists.
See also the other topic www.vekn.net/forum/rules-questions/76321-can-a-vampire-use-multiple-attempt-to-block-effects?start=24#103230
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rémi
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
21 Sep 2021 23:27 - 21 Sep 2021 23:28 #103247
by Bloodartist
I was under impression from the topic post, that player B had already passed impulse, player A had declared block successful, and then player B tried to play eluding.
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Replied by Bloodartist on topic eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare
No. The block resolves once all players have passed the impulse (including A and B). After all, C could lock a Monastery of Shadows to give A more stealth. Or D could play a Draba.
I was under impression from the topic post, that player B had already passed impulse, player A had declared block successful, and then player B tried to play eluding.
no more modifiers are played and vamp A says blocked. Can vamp B still play eluding?
Smoking craters tell no tales.
—Tex talks Battletech
Last edit: 21 Sep 2021 23:28 by Bloodartist.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Bloodartist
-
- Offline
- Antediluvian
-
Less
More
- Posts: 979
- Thank you received: 170
Time to create page: 0.096 seconds
- You are here:
-
Home
-
Forum
-
V:TES Discussion
-
Rules Questions
- eluding the arms of morpheus - AFTER block declare