file Haqim's Law: Retribution - efect during combat

23 Nov 2023 18:21 #109913 by maoja
I cannot find anything in the rules that would prevent one using Anu or HL:R after the point when the action has been deemed succesful. The action has not ended yet, that happens after resolution.

If you can use HL:R during the combat after an unsuccesful action, why can’t you use it after a succesful one?

To be clear: I hope you cannot use these during this time.

(Previous quick reply seems to have disappeared…)
The following user(s) said Thank You: inm8

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Nov 2023 19:36 #109914 by inm8

If the action is a bleed action (even though it's been blocked), you can use BH:R as it is not "playing an action modifier card", the same way you could use the Barrens.


A minion performing a bleed action who is blocked and in combat is still an acting, bleeding, minion.


Based on the above ruling and definition Archon Investigation could be played to burn the BH mid-combat if the boosting leads to a bleed of 4 or more ??

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Nov 2023 08:04 - 24 Nov 2023 08:20 #109916 by Timo

How?

My answer :

the same way you could use the Barrens

In the would be successful window.

All of these are based on the fact that you ruled that it is OK to boost a bleed in a combat based on the fact that it is a generic effect happening during a timing which is technically a bleed action and therefore the acting minion is bleeding.

With the same logic, it could be used during the resolution of the bleed action where (if I am not mistaken) it is allowed to use generic effects like the Barrens.

And to answer that :

No, "would be" window is only used for replacement effects. If you want to increase it, you have to do it before.


You just ruled that it was handled like another generic effects. Otherwise, I could point that in combat you can use only combat cards (and I do).

And by the way, about the second part : you just ruled that you could do it "after".
Last edit: 24 Nov 2023 08:20 by Timo.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Nov 2023 10:03 - 24 Nov 2023 10:17 #109917 by Ankha
There's an old ruling about Pentex(TM) Loves You that clarifies when it can be used, that is: anytime you could you an action modifier.
groups.google.com/g/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/c/QujjxfQHYzw/m/S4tNTm4gpi8J

Based on this, I'm issuing a REVERSAL of my previous answer : you cannot use Banu Haqim: Retribution during combat. You can use it only before action resolution since it is modifying the bleed amount.

(The same applies to Anu Diptinatpa.)

Note that even if one could increase the bleed amount after bleed resolution, this would have no impact on the now-resolved bleed, the same way that making one's hand strikes aggravated after resolution of the strikes doesn't make them retroactively aggravated.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 24 Nov 2023 10:17 by Ankha.
The following user(s) said Thank You: PetriWessman, Timo, inm8, Kilrauko, Thalco, maoja

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Nov 2023 15:32 - 24 Nov 2023 15:35 #109919 by inm8
Would be great if there was an update made to the rules that modifier effects (e.g. Pentex Loves You and HL:R) regardless if from a modifier card or not are subject to the same restriction of timing as modifier cards
Last edit: 24 Nov 2023 15:35 by inm8.
The following user(s) said Thank You: PetriWessman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Nov 2023 22:52 - 28 Nov 2023 22:54 #109955 by Juggernaut1981

One player claim how him can use efect Haqim's Law: Retribution during combat,so just for cycle,him can discard card during combat. if that posible?

Only if the acting minion is bleeding.
REVERSAL: no, not during combat. Only before action resolution.


If this card is now being ruled to provide an "action modifier type effect" why not start printing the cards in that way to immediately make these sorts of rulings unnecessary? You can immediately dovetail in a variant of 'each copy in play provides a different action' for cards like this. A simple layout change to eliminate the need for specific card rulings.

Haqim's Law: Retribution
Cardtype: Master
Clan: Banu Haqim
Put this card in play.
:modifier: During a bleed action, a Banu Haqim you control can discard a combat card to get +1 bleed.

:bruj::CEL::POT::PRE::tha: Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
Last edit: 28 Nov 2023 22:54 by Juggernaut1981.
The following user(s) said Thank You: self biased, beslin igor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.068 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum