Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership		
	
	
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 13:36				#93732
		by DJHedgehog
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by DJHedgehog on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			
				LSJ's interpretations of his poor an inconsistent templating and card design are a detriment to the game. They have led to countless pages of rulings that don't align with the cards as written.
This is just one of a hundred reasons why this game is inaccessible to new players.
							
					This is just one of a hundred reasons why this game is inaccessible to new players.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- DJHedgehog
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Elder
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 187
 - Thank you received: 69
 
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 14:26				#93734
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Playing cards "as a whatever" is, in fact, a WotC template - which LSJ then used consistently(*). See Talaq, the Immortal, Blood Brother Ambush, and Shadow Court Satyr. The "as a" rulings are consistent across different whatevers.
(*) With the exception that the capacity/gain life/lose life element for allies was moved to the rulebook, to avoid having to have huge amounts of text on every ally being treated "as a" vampire.
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			LSJ's interpretations of his poor an inconsistent templating and card design are a detriment to the game.
Playing cards "as a whatever" is, in fact, a WotC template - which LSJ then used consistently(*). See Talaq, the Immortal, Blood Brother Ambush, and Shadow Court Satyr. The "as a" rulings are consistent across different whatevers.
(*) With the exception that the capacity/gain life/lose life element for allies was moved to the rulebook, to avoid having to have huge amounts of text on every ally being treated "as a" vampire.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 14:51				#93737
		by LivesByProxy
	
	
		
			
				
This was basically how I read things. Another reason I read it as such: timing windows (as I perceived / assumed them.)
1) Announce / play action card. Mata Hari's ability works during this window. No ambiguity here.
2) Window for block attempts and reaction cards.
3) If not blocked or canceled somehow, then the action would resolve - In my mind, the card-text effect being separate from it's requirements and occurring in a different timing window, I would not have thought Mata Hari's ability worked like LSJ / Ankha's ruling.
But then, all this does is remind me of the discussion on Black Cat's special ability a few months ago. She gets a gun for 1 cheaper, and then effects that check for the pool cost of the gun (like Illegal Search And Seizure) must recognize / remember / retroactively apply her discount, nevermind what the printed pool cost was. Some really weird rules decisions IMO.
							
					
					
 
 
 
 
 Gangrel. Noddist. Camarilla. Once each turn, LivesByProxy may burn 1 blood to lose Protean 
 until the end of the turn and gain your choice of superior Auspex 
, Obfuscate 
, or Potence 
 for the current action.
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by LivesByProxy on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			Based on my understanding of the English language, her ability starts and stops when the card is played.
This was basically how I read things. Another reason I read it as such: timing windows (as I perceived / assumed them.)
1) Announce / play action card. Mata Hari's ability works during this window. No ambiguity here.
2) Window for block attempts and reaction cards.
3) If not blocked or canceled somehow, then the action would resolve - In my mind, the card-text effect being separate from it's requirements and occurring in a different timing window, I would not have thought Mata Hari's ability worked like LSJ / Ankha's ruling.
But then, all this does is remind me of the discussion on Black Cat's special ability a few months ago. She gets a gun for 1 cheaper, and then effects that check for the pool cost of the gun (like Illegal Search And Seizure) must recognize / remember / retroactively apply her discount, nevermind what the printed pool cost was. Some really weird rules decisions IMO.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- LivesByProxy
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 - Malfeasant Entity
 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 518
 - Thank you received: 76
 
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 15:04				#93738
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
The initial rulings on how "as a whatever" works pre-date LSJ.
Cryptic Mission giving Talaq the Immortal an extra life (when the acting vampire gains 1 blood) was ruled in [TOM 19960628] - which is a clear example of "as a vampire" working at the point of resolution of an action.
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			3) If not blocked or canceled somehow, then the action would resolve - In my mind, the card-text effect being separate from it's requirements and occurring in a different timing window, I would not have thought Mata Hari's ability worked like LSJ / Ankha's ruling.
The initial rulings on how "as a whatever" works pre-date LSJ.
Cryptic Mission giving Talaq the Immortal an extra life (when the acting vampire gains 1 blood) was ruled in [TOM 19960628] - which is a clear example of "as a vampire" working at the point of resolution of an action.
It means they follow any instructions given to the "vampire" playing the
card as best they are able. In this case, it means that Talaq does lose
1 life when playing Rutor's Hand, Cryptic Mission will give him 1 life,
and so on.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 15:06		 -  27 Feb 2019 15:07		#93739
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
A WotC rules team ruling. Cards on her cost less.
www.vekn.net/card-rulings/card-rulings-a-to-f
Note that this includes equipment she didn't equip but that has since been moved to her. (Equip from another minion, Heidelberg etc.)
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			But then, all this does is remind me of the discussion on Black Cat's special ability a few months ago. She gets a gun for 1 cheaper, and then effects that check for the pool cost of the gun (like Illegal Search And Seizure) must recognize / remember / retroactively apply her discount, nevermind what the printed pool cost was. Some really weird rules decisions IMO.
A WotC rules team ruling. Cards on her cost less.
www.vekn.net/card-rulings/card-rulings-a-to-f
Black Cat:
The lower pool cost is used for the "cost" of equipment on her. [RTR 19941109]
The lower pool cost is used for the "cost" of equipment on her. [RTR 19941109]
Note that this includes equipment she didn't equip but that has since been moved to her. (Equip from another minion, Heidelberg etc.)
		Last edit: 27 Feb 2019 15:07  by jamesatzephyr.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Antediluvian
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
 - Thank you received: 958
 
			
	
						27 Feb 2019 15:23				#93740
		by DJHedgehog
	
	
		
			
				
... Follow any instructions given to the "vampire". The instruction is to check the capacity of the Assasmites and to provide the controllers of the assamites with pool. How does that explanation fit the Hakim's law situation?
							
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by DJHedgehog on topic Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership			
			It means they follow any instructions given to the "vampire" playing the
card as best they are able. In this case, it means that Talaq does lose
1 life when playing Rutor's Hand, Cryptic Mission will give him 1 life,
and so on.
... Follow any instructions given to the "vampire". The instruction is to check the capacity of the Assasmites and to provide the controllers of the assamites with pool. How does that explanation fit the Hakim's law situation?
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- DJHedgehog
 - 
				
											 - Offline
 - Elder
 - 
				
			 
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 187
 - Thank you received: 69
 
		Time to create page: 0.104 seconds	
- You are here:
 - 
											Home
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Forum
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							
						
										
				 - 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							
						
										
				 - Mata Hari and Hakim's Law: Leadership
 
											
						