question-circle Rotschreck and non-strike Agravated Damage

14 Jan 2022 09:29 - 14 Jan 2022 09:31 #104479 by Bloodartist
What the actual fuck

So "attempting" implies (and that's what the RTR says) that a strike is involved. I don't want to introduce the notion that damage that is inflicted right away (Outside the Hourglass, Pulled Fangs) goes through an "attempt to inflict damage" window which brings nothing but complexity.


You mean you introducing a new case that is different from the norm somehow REDUCES complexity? It would be SIMPLER if the damage from ooth followed the same sequence of events as normal strikes! I dont agree with this at all!

A heretic is a man who sees with his own eyes.
—Gotthold Ephraim Lessing



Last edit: 14 Jan 2022 09:31 by Bloodartist.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2022 11:01 - 14 Jan 2022 11:05 #104480 by Ankha

What the actual fuck

So "attempting" implies (and that's what the RTR says) that a strike is involved. I don't want to introduce the notion that damage that is inflicted right away (Outside the Hourglass, Pulled Fangs) goes through an "attempt to inflict damage" window which brings nothing but complexity.


You mean you introducing a new case that is different from the norm somehow REDUCES complexity? It would be SIMPLER if the damage from ooth followed the same sequence of events as normal strikes! I dont agree with this at all!

Strikes are declared then resolved in another step. "Attempting" to deal damage is reserved for this case, and the usage of that verb will not be used in that case* without indicating "with a strike" from now on (I don't know yet if there are other cards involved).

("attempt to block" is a different case)

Other effects are declared and resolved at the same time.

It doesn't affect how damage are handled. Both damage from strikes and from OotH are handled following the same sequence once they are inflicted.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director
Last edit: 14 Jan 2022 11:05 by Ankha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2022 11:08 #104481 by Lönkka
(I suspect the "attempting" might've been included in the text so that it doesn't matter if the damage is prevented or not.)

NC, Finland
Finnish :POT: Politics!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Lönkka
  • Lönkka's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Antediluvian
  • Antediluvian
  • War=peace, freedom=slavery, ignorance=strength
More
14 Jan 2022 11:10 #104482 by Ankha

(I suspect the "attempting" might've been included in the text so that it doesn't matter if the damage is prevented or not.)

Yes, and it was also implying that it was made by a strike (which is not trivial at all). I made that part explicit by adding it to the cardtext.

Prince of Paris, France
Ratings Coordinator, Rules Director

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jan 2022 19:34 #104486 by kschaefer
Well, thanks for reconsidering. I was working on a large post about the "attempting to inflict" part of Rotschreck that OtH did not provide an opportunity for.

In doing so, I noted that the rulebook, never clearly specifies when damage is inflicted, only when it is successfully inflicted. There may be an opportunity to clean up some rulebook language here as well.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2022 09:26 #104548 by Rémi
Dear all,

Sorry for being confused.

Is it OK to say that Rotschreck is only playable after a strike that would make a minion inflicts aggravated damage on the opposing minion is announced?

If not, I'll have a new read on all this conversation.

Regards,
Rémi.

I am Rémi Cavaillé (), Barcelona (SPAIN). I was the Prince of Lyon (France) a long time ago around 2003

Vampire: Rivals - Prince of the City Barcelona (Spain) 2022, July 2nd
sites.google.com/view/khanjugar/actividad-2022/prince-of-the-city

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
Moderators: AnkhaKraus
Time to create page: 0.101 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum