 Catatonic Fear question
				Catatonic Fear question		
	
	
			
	
						03 May 2014 23:15				#61804
		by CalibanX
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Catatonic Fear question was created by CalibanX			
			
				So, can you play Target Vitals with Catatonic Fear? Also, can the damage inflicted by Catatonic Fear be Prevented with Fortitude?			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						04 May 2014 01:28				#61805
		by TorranceCircle
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by TorranceCircle on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			
				yes you can play target vitals with catatonic fear and you will do 1 damage + 2 from TV. there are very few cards that can prevent this damage. it depends on wether or not the card can be played after combat ends.			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- TorranceCircle
- 
				  
- Offline
- Methuselah
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 415
- Thank you received: 58
			
	
						04 May 2014 03:28				#61806
		by Juggernaut1981
	
	
		
			
					
					



 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by Juggernaut1981 on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			
				Caliban,
1) Yes. You can Target Vitals with Catatonic Fear.
2) You can avoid it with a S:Dodge (since Dodge avoids all negatives from the opposing strike, including special effects such as 'put this card on' and the like). Otherwise, the minion must have a way to prevent damage that is not an 'in combat' prevention. Those would need to say something like "Prevent 1 damage each turn" and not "Prevent 1 damage each round"; rounds are only inside combat so can't be used.
							1) Yes. You can Target Vitals with Catatonic Fear.
2) You can avoid it with a S:Dodge (since Dodge avoids all negatives from the opposing strike, including special effects such as 'put this card on' and the like). Otherwise, the minion must have a way to prevent damage that is not an 'in combat' prevention. Those would need to say something like "Prevent 1 damage each turn" and not "Prevent 1 damage each round"; rounds are only inside combat so can't be used.




 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
				Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Juggernaut1981
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2377
- Thank you received: 327
			
	
						04 May 2014 13:23				#61818
		by CalibanX
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by CalibanX on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			
				I'm confused. If you can't prevent the damage with Fortitude cards because damage prevention is only possible during combat, how can a dodge avoid damage that occurs outside of combat? I wasn't aware that Combat Ends could be Dodged. I thought that playing a S:Combat Ends terminates combat immediately and playing a dodge after combat ends is just card cycling because the combat is already considered "over"?			
					Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
			
	
						04 May 2014 15:02				#61823
		by hardyrange
	
	
		
			
				
Combat Ends. This effect ends combat immediately. This type of strike is always the first to resolve, even before a strike done with first strike, and it ends combat before other strikes or other strike resolution effects are resolved. Combat ends is effective at any range. Combat ends is not affected by a dodge, since dodge only cancels effects that are directed at the dodging minion.
But to be precise:
It ends combat immediaately once we reach strike resolution phase. The opposing vampire can still select a strike, and possibly affect the combat-ending minion with the chosen strike (announcing some strike with aggravated damage, followed by Rötschreck).
A Dodge is not played "after combat ends" - it is played before combat ends, in the Choose Strike phase. The combat is not over, we are still right in the middle of it.
Now, as for Dodge vs. Catatonic Fear, I also am not sure:
According to the rulebook, Strike: Combat Ends "ends combat before other strikes or other strike resolution effects are resolved".
This seems to imply that the Dodge does never resolve at all.
If so, it would not be able to protect against the damage done by Catatonic Fear....
							
					
"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Tradition Compliance Manager
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by hardyrange on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			Strike: Combat Ends is explained in the Rulebook, section 6.4.5. Strike Effects, as follows:I thought that playing a S:Combat Ends terminates combat immediately and playing a dodge after combat ends is just card cycling because the combat is already considered "over"?
Combat Ends. This effect ends combat immediately. This type of strike is always the first to resolve, even before a strike done with first strike, and it ends combat before other strikes or other strike resolution effects are resolved. Combat ends is effective at any range. Combat ends is not affected by a dodge, since dodge only cancels effects that are directed at the dodging minion.
But to be precise:
It ends combat immediaately once we reach strike resolution phase. The opposing vampire can still select a strike, and possibly affect the combat-ending minion with the chosen strike (announcing some strike with aggravated damage, followed by Rötschreck).
A Dodge is not played "after combat ends" - it is played before combat ends, in the Choose Strike phase. The combat is not over, we are still right in the middle of it.
Now, as for Dodge vs. Catatonic Fear, I also am not sure:
According to the rulebook, Strike: Combat Ends "ends combat before other strikes or other strike resolution effects are resolved".
This seems to imply that the Dodge does never resolve at all.
If so, it would not be able to protect against the damage done by Catatonic Fear....
"It was a perfect plan - until it had contact with reality"
---
Hardy Range
Playgroup Tradition Compliance Manager
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- hardyrange
- 
				  
- Offline
- Methuselah
- 
				  
			
	
						04 May 2014 15:07		 -  04 May 2014 15:09		#61824
		by ReverendRevolver
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by ReverendRevolver on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			
				You dodge the damage and effects of a strike. Morphean blow and cat fear are damage dealing sce.
Combat still ends, but you dodged a damage dealimg strike as well, thus no damage. (If you dodge Wither, you dont get the card, etc)
Cat fear and target vitals is nasty, but dodgeable.
The after combat ends part closes any fortitude or" prevent x combat damage" stuff.
But the strike was in combat, so can be dodged.
Its one of the few nice things about BS sce crap.
					Combat still ends, but you dodged a damage dealimg strike as well, thus no damage. (If you dodge Wither, you dont get the card, etc)
Cat fear and target vitals is nasty, but dodgeable.
The after combat ends part closes any fortitude or" prevent x combat damage" stuff.
But the strike was in combat, so can be dodged.
Its one of the few nice things about BS sce crap.
		Last edit: 04 May 2014 15:09  by ReverendRevolver.			
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- ReverendRevolver
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2436
- Thank you received: 407
		Time to create page: 0.079 seconds	
- You are here:
- 
											Home
					
											
							  
- 
											Forum
					
											
							  
- 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							  
- 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							  
- Catatonic Fear question
 
											 
						
