 Catatonic Fear question
				Catatonic Fear question		
	
	
			
	
						06 May 2014 12:44				#61900
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Most untaps, Dodge has no effect on, because they're untaps of the striking minion.
If you Dodge an inferior Meld with the Land - which untaps you, the opposing minion - then you dodge that too, and don't get untapped by it.
But with, say, Earth Meld, the striking minion untaps:
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			and pertained to the secondary affects of combat ends cards too(inflict 1 damage after combat, untap, continue action, etc).
Most untaps, Dodge has no effect on, because they're untaps of the striking minion.
If you Dodge an inferior Meld with the Land - which untaps you, the opposing minion - then you dodge that too, and don't get untapped by it.
[vic] Strike: combat ends and untap the opposing minion (even at long range).
But with, say, Earth Meld, the striking minion untaps:
[pro] Strike: combat ends.
[PRO] As above, and this vampire untaps before combat ends.
			[PRO] As above, and this vampire untaps before combat ends.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
- Thank you received: 958
			
	
						06 May 2014 19:54				#61908
		by Juggernaut1981
	
	
		
			
					
					



 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
				
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by Juggernaut1981 on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			
				Caliban:
The 'secret' is the "and" and to which minion the stuff after "and" applies. In the examples I gave you, they were all "and do something to the other guy".
Psyche @ [CEL] does a similar thing to cards like Form of Mist @[PRO], Morphean Blow @[VAL], Mirror Image @[CHI] and Blissful Agony @[obe] and [OBE].
I'd also be thinking that S:D may truncate Blissful Agony, but I'm not sure. The effect isn't quite 'the other minion' but may be close enough that it is circumvented by S:D.
							The 'secret' is the "and" and to which minion the stuff after "and" applies. In the examples I gave you, they were all "and do something to the other guy".
Psyche @ [CEL] does a similar thing to cards like Form of Mist @[PRO], Morphean Blow @[VAL], Mirror Image @[CHI] and Blissful Agony @[obe] and [OBE].
I'd also be thinking that S:D may truncate Blissful Agony, but I'm not sure. The effect isn't quite 'the other minion' but may be close enough that it is circumvented by S:D.




 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
 Retired Baron of Sydney, Australia, 418
				Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- Juggernaut1981
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2377
- Thank you received: 327
			
	
						06 May 2014 20:00				#61909
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Dodge protects you from the "enter combat" effect of Blissful Agony.
[FZD 20130924]
					
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Re: Catatonic Fear question			
			I'd also be thinking that S:D may truncate Blissful Agony, but I'm not sure. The effect isn't quite 'the other minion' but may be close enough that it is circumvented by S:D.
Dodge protects you from the "enter combat" effect of Blissful Agony.
[FZD 20130924]
>Question - IMHO the second part of the BA effect kicks
>in even if the opposing vampire plays S:CE or dodge. I am wrong?
Dodge: The new combat doesn't happen. Dodge protects your minion from the opposing minion's strike.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
- Thank you received: 958
			
	
						08 Apr 2020 08:45				#99535
		by beslin igor
	
	
		
			
	
			
			 		
													
		
				Replied by beslin igor on topic Catatonic Fear question			
			
				What happen with CF damage if any efect make damage in combat aggravated (example Dawn Operation),does CF damage normal or aggravated?
Dawn Operation
Action Modifier
Fortitude
[for] If this action is blocked, all damage inflicted to vampires in the resulting combat is aggravated. Any vampire attempting to block may now choose not to block.
[FOR] As above, but vampires attempting to block cannot back out.
							
					Dawn Operation
Action Modifier
Fortitude
[for] If this action is blocked, all damage inflicted to vampires in the resulting combat is aggravated. Any vampire attempting to block may now choose not to block.
[FOR] As above, but vampires attempting to block cannot back out.
Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- beslin igor
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 732
- Thank you received: 150
			
	
						08 Apr 2020 09:25				#99536
		by jamesatzephyr
	
	
		
			
				
Damage that's dealt outside combat (such as Catatonic Fear) isn't affected by Dawn Operation, because Dawn Operation only affects damage in the resulting combat.
Similarly, you can't play Skin of Rock to prevent the damage, because you need to be inside combat to play combat cards.
					
	
	
			 		
													
		
				Replied by jamesatzephyr on topic Catatonic Fear question			
			What happen with CF damage if any efect make damage in combat aggravated (example Dawn Operation),does CF damage normal or aggravated?
Damage that's dealt outside combat (such as Catatonic Fear) isn't affected by Dawn Operation, because Dawn Operation only affects damage in the resulting combat.
Similarly, you can't play Skin of Rock to prevent the damage, because you need to be inside combat to play combat cards.
		The following user(s) said Thank You: beslin igor 	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
- jamesatzephyr
- 
				  
- Offline
- Antediluvian
- 
				  
		Less
		More
		
			
	
		- Posts: 2788
- Thank you received: 958
			
	
						07 Aug 2023 15:50		 -  07 Aug 2023 16:28		#108946
		by Gloomy
	
	
		
			
	
	
			 		
													
		
	
				Replied by Gloomy on topic Catatonic Fear question			
			
				Hello,
I have an additional question regarding "Catatonic Fear": can you play "Pulled Fang" after "Catatonic Fear" ? "Pulled Fang" says:
So, "Catatonic Fear" ends the combat but the "End of round" phase still occurs, allowing to play "Pulled Fang" ?
Thanks !
					I have an additional question regarding "Catatonic Fear": can you play "Pulled Fang" after "Catatonic Fear" ? "Pulled Fang" says:
and the rules says:Only usable at close range at the end of a round of combat in which this minion successfully inflicted more damage than the opposing vampire.
End of Round: In this step you use the combat cards or other effects that are only usable at the end of a round of combat, after the press step. Note that this step also occurs even if combat ends prematurely.
So, "Catatonic Fear" ends the combat but the "End of round" phase still occurs, allowing to play "Pulled Fang" ?
Thanks !
		Last edit: 07 Aug 2023 16:28  by Gloomy.		Reason: (typo)	
			Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.
		Time to create page: 0.091 seconds	
- You are here:
- 
											Home
					
											
							  
- 
											Forum
					
											
							  
- 
											V:TES Discussion
					
											
							  
- 
											Rules Questions
					
											
							  
- Catatonic Fear question
 
											 
						
 
		