Some of the various clans of vampires have grouped themselves into sects. Each sect represents clans with similar philosophies and goals. Each sect has its own codes of conduct and its own political structure and titles.

A vampire always belongs to one and only one sect. If a vampire changes sect, they no longer belong to their old sect but belong to the new sect instead.

No matter what sect, a vampire cannot have more than one title. If a vampire with a title gains another, they lose the first title, even if the new title would be a demotion. If a vampire with a contested title (see Contested Titles) gains a title, they immediately yield the contested title.

A vampire must belong to the appropriate sect to receive a title. If a vampire with a title changes clans or sects to a clan or sect inappropriate for their title, they lose the benefit of the title until their clan or sect changes appropriately. If they receive a new title, or if their title is contested (see Contested Titles), they immediately yield the old title.

Camarilla

Only Camarilla vampires can hold the Camarilla titles primogen, prince, justicar, and Inner Circle member. Additionally, each clan’s justicar and Inner Circle titles are unique (see Contested Titles) and can only be held by vampires of that clan. The title of prince is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims any title to the same city. The title of primogen is not unique and cannot be contested.

Anarch

Some vampires are by default Anarch as written on them. An untitled non-Anarch vampire can become an Anarch as a +1 stealth undirected action that costs 2 blood, or 1 blood if the controller controls at least 1 other ready Anarch. A vampire can also be made an Anarch by certain card effects. Becoming Anarch constitutes a change of sect (see above). Like other sects, being Anarch has no effect on game play except as defined by cards and effects in play.  Some cards can only be played by Anarch vampires.

Baron is a title that can only be held by an Anarch. The title of baron is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims the title of prince, archbishop, or baron of the same city. If a baron changes sect, they lose the benefit of the title until they become Anarch again, as usual for titles.

Sabbat

Only Sabbat vampires can hold the Sabbat titles bishop, archbishop, priscus, cardinal, and regent. Like Camarilla princes, the title of archbishop is associated with a particular city and can be contested by another vampire who claims any title to the same city. The title of regent is unique (see Contested Titles). The other Sabbat titles are not unique and cannot be contested.

During the polling step of a referendum, a Methuselah gains:

1 vote for each ready bishop
2 votes for each ready archbishop
3 votes for each ready cardinal
4 votes for the ready regent

The Prisci Block: The prisci as a group have 3 votes. During a referendum, the prisci block of 3 votes is cast “for” or “against” the referendum according to the prisci sub-referendum. Each ready priscus provides 1 ballot for this sub-referendum, and votes may not be used in this sub-referendum. Each ballot cast is either “for” or “against” the main referendum. Whichever side has the greater number of ballots in the sub-referendum gains 3 votes in the main referendum. If the sub-referendum is tied, the prisci block abstains from the main referendum. As vampires cast their ballots in the sub-referendum, the prisci block of 3 votes might shift between “for”, “against”, and “abstain” (as the majority in the subreferendum changes). A vampire must cast all of their votes and ballots in agreement.

Paths of Enlightenment: Only Sabbat vampires can follow one of the four Paths of Enlightenment ("Path" for short):

  • Path of Caine
  • Path of Cathari
  • Path of Death and the Soul
  • Path of Power and the Inner Voice

Sabbat Path symbols

A vampire can only follow one Path. If a vampire follows a new Path, they no longer follow their old Path but follow the new Path instead. A vampire must be Sabbat to receive the benefits of the above Paths. If a Sabbat vampire following a Sabbat Path changes their sect, they lose the benefit of the Path until they change their sect back to Sabbat. Some vampires have a Path already printed on them. During your influence phase, each of your Sabbat vampires not following a Path can burn 1 blood to follow a Sabbat Path from the above list. Following a Path does not change a vampire’s clan, nor does it prevent that vampire from meeting the requirements for their clan’s cards.

For the purpose of these rules, the antitribu clans are distinct from their non-antitribu counterparts. A vampire of one of the antitribu clans does not qualify to play a card that requires the counterpart, and vice versa. Likewise, if a vampire changes sect, their clan does not automatically change.

For example, a Malkavian that becomes Sabbat via Into the Fire is still a Malkavian, not a Malkavian antitribu. A Lasombra who becomes Camarilla is a Camarilla Lasombra.

Independent

Any vampire not aligned with any of the major sects is an Independent vampire. These vampires are identified simply as “Independent” in card text. Some Independent vampires may start with votes, as listed on card text. Treat these vampires as if they had titles of their own. These titles are not tied to a sect.